The interaction of Judaism and economics encompasses many different dimensions. Much of this interaction can be explored through the way in which Jewish law accommodates and even enhances commercial practice today and in past societies. From this context, The Oxford Handbook of Judaism and Economics explores how Judaism as a religion and Jews as a people relate to the economic sphere of life in modern society as well as in the past. Bringing together an astonishingly strong group of top scholars, the volume approaches the subject from a variety of angles, providing one of the most comprehensive, well-rounded, and authoritative accounts of the intersections of Judaism and economics yet produced. Aaron Levine first offers a brief overview of the nature and development of Jewish law as a legal system, then presents essays from a variety of angles and areas of expertise. The book offers contributions on economic theory in the bible and in the Talmud; on the interaction between Jewish law, ethics, modern society, and public policy; then presents illuminating explorations of Judaism throughout economic history and the ways in which economics has influenced Jewish history. The Oxford Handbook of Judaism and Economics at last offers an extensive and welcome resource by leading scholars and economists on the vast and delightfully complex relationship between economics and Judaism.
The Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies by Martin Goodman (Editor); Jeremy Cohen (Editor); David Sorkin (Editor)
This volume on Jewish studies presents surveys of today's interests and directions in the humanities and social sciences. It covers all the main areas taught and researched as part of Jewish studies in universities throughout the world, especially in Europe, the US, and Israel.
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism by Geoffrey Wigoder (Editor); Fred Skolnick (Editor); Shmuel Himelstein (Editor)
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism is a comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that accessibly presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements. The original version of the encyclopedia was selected by the American Library Association as an Outstanding Reference Book. This revised and expanded edition updates the original thousand entries and adds nearly 250 new ones. Magnificently illustrated, it also contains a new introduction, a guide for usage, new illustrations, as well as a new annotated bibliography.
The Psalms-the longest and most complex book in the Bible-is a varied collection of religious poetry, the product of centuries of composition and revision. It is the most transcribed and translated book of the Hebrew Bible. Intended for both scholar and student, The Oxford Handbook of the Psalms features a diverse array of essays that treat the Psalms from a variety of perspectives. Beginning with an overview of the Psalms that touches on the history of scholarship and interpretation, the volume goes on to explore the Psalms as a form of literature and a source of creative inspiration, an artifact whose origins remain speculative, a generative presence in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam, and a still-current text that continues to be read and appropriated in various ways. Classical scholarship and traditional approaches as well as contextual interpretations and practices are well represented. The Handbook's coverage is uniquely wide-ranging, covering everything from the ancient Near Eastern background of the Psalms to contemporary liturgical usage. This volume offers a dynamic introduction into an increasingly complex field and will be an indispensable resource for all students of the Psalms.
The Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies by Judith M. Lieu (Editor); J. W. Rogerson (Editor)
The Oxford Handbooks series is a major new initiative in academic publishing. Each volume offers an authoritative and up-to-date survey of original research in a particular subject area. Specially commissioned essays from leading figures in the discipline give critical examinations of the progress and direction of debates. Biblical studies is a highly technical and diverse field. Study of the Bible demands expertise in fields ranging from Archaeology, Egyptology, Assyriology, and Linguistics through textual, historical, and sociological studies to Literary Theory, Feminism, Philosophy, and Theology, to name only some. This authoritative and compelling guide to the discipline will, therefore, be an invaluable reference work for all students and academics who want to explore more fully essential topics in Biblical studies.
Encyclopedia of Midrash by Jacob Neusner (Editor); Alan J. Avery Peck (Editor); William Scott Green (Editor); Guenter Stemberger (Editor)
The Encyclopedia of Midrash Biblical Interpretation in Formative Judaism, provides a systematic account of biblical interpretation in Judaism, from well before the second century BCE through the end of the seventh century CE. While emphasizing the Rabbinic literature, it also covers interpretation of Scripture in a number of distinct canons, ranging from the Targumic literature and Dead Sea Scrolls to the New Testament and Church Fathers. The encyclopedia comprises fifty-six essays written by thirty scholars, representing the leading figures in the study of ancient Judaism and biblical interpretation in North America, Europe, and the State of Israel.Alongside a general introduction to Rabbinic Midrash and its traits, including the theoretical questions of definition, origins, theology, hermeneutics, genre-criticism, and language, the encyclopedia addresses specific topics of concern in the study of scriptural interpretation. How Rabbinic midrashic documents that focus on specific books of Scripture read those specific books, the theology expressed by Rabbinic midrashic compilations, and the historical context in which Rabbinic Midrash took shape all are treated. Beyond these central issues in understanding Rabbinic Midrash, the encyclopedia treats interpretations of Scripture that came to closure prior to, or outside of, the framework of Rabbinic Midrash: Hellenistic Jewish Midrash, Josephus, Pseudo-Philo, Jubilees, as well as to the New Testament, Karaite and Samaritan writings, and the Dead Sea Scrolls.The Encyclopedia of Midrash provides readers with a depth and breadth of treatment of Midrash unavailable in any other single source. Through the writings of top scholars in each of their fields, it sets out the current state of the question for each of the many topics discussed in its pages.
This encyclopedia is the first book to identify, explain and categorize more than 1,400 versions of the English Bible. This includes 407 different Bibles, 53 Old Testaments, 407 New Testaments, more than 180 variants of the Authorized Version, 50 unfinished Bible versions and many others. It is an up-to-date and comprehensive reference work that includes internet versions along with print versions and offers details not found in other reference works. Scripture samples, bibliographic entries, translator lists, revision connections, variations of the texts, word substitutions and source texts are just some of the information found in this work. Biographical information about key translators is provided as well. Also unique to this work are difference tables which help differentiate among revisions of a particular Bible. An extensive index includes version titles, nicknames, abbreviations, translators, dates, source texts, and more.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation by Steven L. McKenzie (Editor)
The two-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation (OEBI) will fill a crucial need in the field of biblical studies by providing detailed, comprehensive treatments of the latest approaches to and methods for interpretation of the Bible written by expert practitioners. It willprovide a single source for authoritative reference overviews of scholarship on some of the most important topics of study in the field of biblical studies. As with all high quality reference works, it provides a solid foundation that students and scholars can use to orientate themselves beforeventuring into original research. The Encyclopedia will contain nearly 120 entries, ranging in length from 3,000 to 5,000 words. It will be organized in an A-to-Z format. Each entry will be signed, contain a bibliography for further reading, and will be cross-referenced to other useful points of interest within the Encyclopedia. Itwill also feature a topical outline of contents and an extensive index.