Preceded by three introductory essays and a chronology of major events in black religious history from 1618 to 1991, this A-Z encyclopedia includes three types of entries: * Biographical sketches of 773 African American religious leaders * 341 entries on African American denominations and religious organizations (including white churches with significant black memberships and educational institutions) * Topical articles on important aspects of African American religious life (e.g., African American Christians during the Colonial Era, Music in the African American Church) The biographical sketches range from a paragraph to several pages for such major figures as Martin Luther King. Entries for the larger African American denominations are likewise several pages in length, as are most of the topical articles. A bibliography of 303 major texts on African American religion follows the entries, most of which conclude with a list of references specifically related to their subject. A directory section provides the current addresses and telephone numbers of the national headquarters of the churches and organizations covered in the encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of African American Christian Heritage by Marvin A. McMickle; Cain Hope Felder (Foreword by); J. Alfred Smith (Foreword by)
In this historical handbook, readers will virtually hear the voices of select African-American religious leaders and learn of the events, movements, and organizations that have contributed to the formations and development of African-American Christianity.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America by Charles H. Lippy; Peter W. Williams
A multidisciplinary examination of religion in American life nbsp; Encyclopedia of Religion in America examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America. This authoritative four-volume reference work explains the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States. nbsp; Edited by well-known experts in the field, the Encyclopedia covers all the significant religious denominations and movements that have originated or flourished in North America, from the beginning of European settlement to the present day. The broad multidisciplinary coverage includes the religious life of indigenous peoples, specific aspects of religious life, and the relationship of political, social, economic, and cultural spheres. nbsp; Topics include: Religion as an influential force in the U.S. Methods of worship Religion and politics Homosexuality and religion African American religion Arts and architecture Church-state issues Education Environment and ecology Ethnicity Evangelicals Faiths Gay and lesbian issues Historical overviews Immigration Media (new and old) Megachurches Movements and denominations New religious movements Popular religion and culture Race and racism Religious thought Religious Right Rites Role of women Terrorism and war nbsp; Encyclopedia of Religion in America is an essential resource for students and scholars researching issues in a wide variety of social science disciplines, from American history to cultural studies, political science, gender studies, psychology of religion, and more. It reflects new scholarly research and interpretation that have emerged over the last two decades, as well as significant new areas of study, such as post-9/11 America, the role of gays and lesbians in church, gender, and the role of the evangelicals in American political life.
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America by Rosemary Skinner Keller (Editor); Rosemary Radford Ruether (Editor); Marie Cantlon (Editor)
The Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America harvests the fruits of 25 years of scholarship on the history and current state of women's religious experience in North America. The result of a five-year project led by Rosemary Skinner Keller and Rosemary Radford Ruether and funded by the Lilly Endowment and the Henry Luce Foundation, the encyclopedia marshals the talents of more than 150 scholars to produce the most comprehensive and up-to-date description and analysis of women and religion in North America. The encyclopedia is interreligious, interracial, and multicultural and is aimed at a broad general audience. Instead of hundreds of short entries, this encyclopedia features more than 145 longer essays that enable major themes to be developed more fully. The articles focus on institutions, movements, and ideas. The authors weave biographical sketches into their articles to give them a more personal and humanizing quality, and to recognize the women responsible for the gains made over the centuries. The essays demonstrate that neither the story of women nor the story of religion in North America can be accurately told unless the religious experience of women is integrated into the center of women's and religious history. These well-illustrated volumes will be an essential reference for all of those interested in the role of women in North America's vibrant and complex religious life.
The Encyclopedia of Native American Religions by Arlene B. Hirschfelder; Paulette Fairbanks Molin; Walter R. Echo-Hawk (Foreword by)
"Encyclopedia of Native American Religions is a guide to the rich spiritual traditions and practices of Native Americans in the United States and Canada. Included are more than 1,200 entries, alphabetically arranged and fully cross-referenced. Long regarded as quaint curiosities or exotic pagan rites, the religious practices of Native Americans make up a rich, enduring legacy deserving of a place among the great spiritual traditions. Encyclopedia of Native American Religions is a comprehensive resource to these traditions and practices and accords them the respect, status, and attention they deserve." "In this edition, new or updated information has been included on such topics as: national and state legislation, such as the Native American Church Bill, which allows the religious use of peyote, and the Religious Freedom Restoration Act; religious rights in the military; sacred sites; sacred use of tobacco; and court cases involving the participation of non-Indians in Native American religious ceremonies, such as the Sun Dance."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
American Indian Religious Traditions by Suzanne J. Crawford (Editor); Dennis F. Kelley (Editor)
Combining the work of Native Americans and non-Native scholars, this reference work explores indigenous North American religions, religious practices, and rituals. * 150+ entries including extensive entries that address complex key ideas and pan-tribal movements, placing them within their historical and contemporary contexts * Comprehensive lists of further readings for each entry that provide the reader resources for deeper research * Illustrations including photos of community members, prominent places within traditional sacred geographies, regalia, basketry, traditional artwork, and more * Maps detailing tribal homelands, sidebars providing background of regional groups, and a listing of recognized tribes