Research Guides: *History*: Archives and Genealogy

Archives

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Provides access to "nearly a million collection descriptions" from "thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact [information from] archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies."
OAIster This link opens in a new window
Serves as a search portal to open access digital collections and resources such as electronic books, online journals, audio files, images, and movies from a wide variety of research, library, and scholarly institutions.
TriCollege Libraries Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Find digital images and manuscripts from the TriCollege Libraries.

Access the digital collections of Bryn Mawr College Special Collections, Haverford College Special Collections, Swarthmore College Friends Historical Library and Swarthmore College Peace Collection.

Includes primary source material in the areas of advertising, botany, peace studies, Quakerism, theater, women's studies and more.

Looking for materials that are physically available at the libraries? Search Archives & Manuscripts (TriCollege Libraries).

Genealogy

For more in-depth information about conducting genealogical research, along with links to a variety of useful resources and research tools, please consult this guide to genealogy.

Ancestry.com
Wide-ranging collections of information for conducting genealogical and local history research. Includes: digitized images of the United States Federal Census from 1790 forward; the American Genealogical Biographical Index; Passenger and Immigration Lists Index; United Kingdom and United States Directories 1680-1830; court, land, and probate records; and many other resources. Tip: If you're presented with a message that the page isn't redirecting properly, try turning off the third party cookies in your browser.
Accessible Archives
Contains full-text primary resource materials in American history including newspapers, magazines, and genealogical records originally only offered on microfilm. Covers 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.