*History*

Covers American history and literature from the colonial period to the eighteenth century. Provides full-text digitization of the Early American Imprints microform set, Series I (1639-1800).

Covers American history and literature from the colonial period to the eighteenth century. Provides full-text digitization of the Early American Imprints microform set, Series II (1801-1819). Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States.

Offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides (1820-1900) and 15,000 pieces of ephemera (1760 -1900) from the American Antiquarian Society collection. Subjects range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Material types include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations.

Offers index and full text of historical American periodicals held by the American Antiquarian Society. The collections covers a wide range of topics including agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, politics. Parts I-V available (and trial for Part VI through Dec. 16, 2024)

Provides information on, and access to, digitized versions of primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures.

Search through 1,800 magazines and journals published in the United States between 1740-1940. Includes early scientific publications, trade journals, popular magazines such as Ladies' Home Journal, and journals such as Puck, The Dial, and McClure's.

OpinionArchives provides electronic archives for journals of opinion, including The Nation, Commentary, The New Republic, Commonweal, Dissent, NACLA, American spectator, National review, Harper's magazine, New York review, and the New Yorker. The OpinionArchives metasearch tool provides cross-journal searching for all titles in the archive.

Contains full-text articles about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, including presidential and congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. Also contains large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience. Covers 1827-1902 (with gaps).

Search through 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, including academic and political journals, magazines, newsletters, literary journals, annual reports of organizations, and other genres. Includes publications from 25 states and Washington, DC.

Offers images and full-text content access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, and in additional subsequent bibliographies through the Civil War, Reconstruction, Progressive Eras and beyond. Series 1, 1690-1876; Series 2, 1758-1922; Series 3, 1829-1922; Series 4, 1759-1922; Series 5, 1777-1922; Series 6, 1741-1922; Series 7, 1773-1922. Includes many Philadelphia newspapers, including the Inquirer, 1860-1920.

Full-text access to news articles, blog posts, videos, images, and multimedia features. Coverage from 1851-present.

Provides access to approximately 10,000 books and over 50,000 journal articles in the University of Michigan and Cornell University Libraries from the antebellum through reconstruction periods. Covers American social history focusing especially on education, psychology, religion, science, and technology.

Provides access to approximately 10,000 books and over 50,000 journal articles in the University of Michigan and Cornell University Libraries from the antebellum through reconstruction periods. Covers American social history focusing especially on education, psychology, religion, science, and technology.

Online collection of diaries, letters, memoirs, oral histories, manifestos, memorabilia, publications, ephemera, and other documentation of the social and political movements of the 1960s and early 1970s.

This resource provides documents pertaining to women and social movements. Includes document projects that interpret and present documents to address a question or a scholarly debate. Also includes images, a dictionary of social movements, a chronology and teaching tools. Covers the 17th century to the 21st century.

A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the twentieth century.

View the fully digitized records of Civil Rights organizations and personal papers on African American life in the 20th century, including:
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), records from 1913-1965
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers (SNCC), records from 1959-1972
Congress on Racial Equality (CORE), records from 1941-1967
Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, records from 1925-1969
The Claude A. Barnett Papers: The Associated Negro Press, covering 1918-1967
The Black Power Movement: Papers of the Revolutionary Action Movement, records from 1962-1996; The League of Revolutionary Black Workers, records from 1965-1976
Personal papers of Bayard Rustin, Mary McLeod Bethune, and A. Philip Randolph

This collection searches a unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.
Over 15,000 items are available for searching.

Provides full-text of all reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives from 1817-1994.

Provides daily updated information on the U.S. legislature, including full text of bills starting in 1989, public laws starting in 1988, committee reports starting in 1990, House and Senate documents starting in 1995, Congressional Record starting in 1985, Federal Register starting in 1980, National Journal starting in 1977 and other government information.

Contains full text declassified government documents owned by the National Security Archive covering world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions. Includes collections of indexed documents (with new collections added yearly), glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs. Coverage from post-World War II to present.

Provides access to U.S. congressional materials from 1789 through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session.