Research Guides: *Anthropology*: Cultural Anthropology

Reference Materials

Blackwell Companions to Anthropology
A series of handbooks that provide critical essays on a wide range of issues to give a full overview of the topic. Recent titles have dealt with education and medicine.
Cambridge encyclopedia of hunters and gatherers
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This set, at four volumes, has space for lengthier treatments of topics.
Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This single-volume encyclopedia from the publisher Routledge is particularly good for methodologies and connections with related disciplines. See the Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology: Humanity, Culture, and Social Life also published by Routledge. It has much longer, broader entries, written in the form of essays.
Encyclopedia of world cultures
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Describes cultural groups around the world. Since it is 10 volumes in length, some attention can be given to even little-known peoples. Includes useful bibliographic citations for further research.
Handbook of ethnography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Web Sites

Ethnographic Resources
The Library of Congress maintains this directory of sources related to anthropology, folklore, and ethnomusicology.
Society for the Anthropology of North America
HAU Books
Open access scholarly books related to anthropological and ethnographic theory, both classic and contemporary. These books are also listed in Tripod.

Online Databases

Africa-Wide
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa including books, journal articles, maps and music recordings. Some materials are in full-text. Covers 19th century-present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festshriften on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers 1971-present. Complete citations end with the 1991 records. Since 1992, newly published books are no longer being added.
eHRAF (e-Human Relations Area Files) World Cultures
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains ethnographic and other documents describing the cultures of the world. Includes books, journal articles, and dissertations that are compiled into culture profiles. Many documents are in full-text.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to scholarly journal articles published in Latin America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, and to materials that address this region and U.S. Hispanic topics. Covers political, economic, and social issues. Some citations link to full-text articles. Covers 1970-present.
Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers in the fields of sociology, social work and related disciplines as far back as 1963. Includes Social Services Abstracts journals.
Women's Studies International
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, newspapers, dissertations and bulletins, in the core areas of women's studies. Subjects include, feminism, women of color, science, health and technology. Includes different women's studies resources. Covers 1972-present.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on all aspects of Indigenous culture, history, and life primarily in North America. Provides citations for newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, reviews, and trade publications from the United States and Canada with expanded content from Great Britain and Australia.

Media Resources

Ethnographic Video Online, Volume I
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, food and foraging, economic systems, social stratification, caste systems and slavery, kinship, political organization, conflict and resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.

Film Resources of the Royal Anthropological Institute
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Royal Anthropological Institute has put together these web links for film makers and academic centers.

Filmakers Library Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to streaming documentaries of over 900 titles in the humanities and social sciences produced from 1978-present. Topical coverage includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
AVON (Academic Video Online)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online brings together on a single cross-searchable platform a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street Press video titles. Includes Ethnographic Video Online, newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage.