Research Guides: *Anthropology*: Archaeology

Reference Materials

Companion to Paleoanthropology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A compendium of readings representing the state-of-the-art in our knowledge relating to the study of ancient humans as found in fossil hominid evidence.
Encyclopedia of prehistory
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nine volume set, organized by area of the world. Includes information on "all archaeologically known cultures, covering the entire globe and the entire prehistory of humankind."
Encyclopedia of archaeology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.
Encyclopedia of historical archaeology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford handbook of North American archaeology
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Archaeology Journals

Archaeology journals are included in many anthropology databases as well as other databases listed on this guide. These are just a few selected journals that may be useful.

Journal of Archaeological Research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of Archaeological Method and Theory
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of Archaeological Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of Archaeological Science, Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Collections Databases

TriArte: The Art & Artifacts Database of the TriColleges This link opens in a new window
The Art and Artifact Collections database features over 24,000 objects from Special Collections at Bryn Mawr and Haverford Colleges.

Smithsonian Institution Anthropology Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Smithsonian has extensive collections of artifacts, photographs, and film. Much of the material is described and indexed in databases on this site.

Europeana This link opens in a new window
Use Europeana to search through millions of digitized books, art, newspapers, and other sources from European museums, galleries and national libraries.

Archaeology Data Repositories

Individual excavations may have their own websites or online databases, which can be found via a web search. The following repositories aggregate raw data from many projects into one searchable online platform.

Archaeology Data Service (ADS)
University of York (UK) website hosting various types of archaeological data, including site reports, maps, artifact data, and more.
Open Context
Alexandria Archive Institute's online archaeology data repository.
Paleoindian Database of the Americas (PIDBA)
University of Tennessee Department of Anthropology database that provides locational, attribute, and image data on Paleoindian materials (>ca. 10,000 cal yr BP) from all across the Americas.
tDAR: The Digital Archeological Record
Digital Antiquity's international repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations.

Related Research Guides

*Classical & Near Eastern Archaeology*
by Camilla MacKay Last Updated Sep 30, 2024 216 views this year
*Art & Art History*
by Patty Guardiola Last Updated Nov 12, 2024 580 views this year