In 18th century France, letter writing became extremely fashionable, particularly amongst women. In this work, Dena Goodman opens up the world of these women though the letters which they wrote. Concentrating on the letters of four women from different social backgrounds, she shows how they came to womanhood through their writing.
Bluestockings participated in the first wide-scale creation of a national culture. Exploring the tension between individual and collective models of authorship, Eger draws on visual and printed materials and unpublished manuscripts to argue for the enduring relevance of rational argument in the history of womens' writing.
Featuring the most frequently taught female writers and texts of the early modern period, this Companion introduces the reader to the range, complexity, historical importance, and aesthetic merit of women's writing in Britain from 1500 to 1700.
The centerpiece of The Case of Mistress Mary Hampson is the autobiographical narrative of a 17th-century woman in an abusive and violent marriage. Composed at a time when marital disharmony was in vogue with readers and publishers, it stands out from comparable works, usually single broadsheets. In her own words, Mary recounts various dramatic and stressful episodes from her decades-long marriage to Robert Hampson and her strategies for dealing with it. The harrowing tale contains scenes of physical abuse, mob violence, abandonment, flight, and destitution. It also shows moments of personal courage and interventions on the author's behalf by friends and strangers, some of whom are subject to severe reprisals. Mary wrote her story to come to terms with her situation, to justify her actions, and to cast herself in a virtuous light. The accompanying discussion of her life, drawn from other sources, provides chilling evidence of the vulnerability of seventeenth-century women and the flawed legal mechanisms that were supposed to protect them.
In the first full-length study of the figure of the female libertine in late seventeenth- and early eighteenth-century literature, Laura Linker examines heroines appearing in literature by John Dryden, Aphra Behn, Catharine Trotter, Delariviere Manley, and Daniel Defoe. Linker argues that this figure, partially inspired by Epicurean ideas found in Lucretius's De Rerum Natura, interrogates gender roles and assumptions and emerges as a source of considerable tension during the late Stuart and early Georgian periods. Witty and rebellious, the female libertine becomes a frequent satiric target because of her transgressive sexuality.
In 16th and 17th century England conversation was an embodied act that held the capacity to negotiate, manipulate and transform social relationships. Early Modern Women in Conversation illuminates the extent to which gender shaped conversational interaction and demonstrates the significance of conversation as a rhetorical practice for women.
This is the first edition ever of the Queen's correspondence in Italian. These letters cast a new light on her talents as a linguist and provide interesting details as to her political agenda, and on the cultural milieu of her court. This book provides a fresh analysis of the surviving evidence concerning Elizabeth's learning and use of Italian, and of the activity of the members of her "Foreign Office." All of the documents transcribed here are accompanied by a short introduction focusing on their content and context, a brief description of their transmission history, and an English translation.
This is a collection of tales written by two 18th century French women authors, Madame de Villeneuve and Madame Leprince de Beaumont. Both of their versions of "Beauty and the Beast" are included in the volume.
This anthology contains long extracts from fifty early modern texts, including witchcraft pamphlets, letters and other manuscript material, prophetic texts, practical books and petitions, as well as the more widely recognized genres of prose fiction and autobiography. The women writers themselves represent a range of different social, religious and political positions. Texts by male writers are also included to promote "a gendered poetics that rereads men's texts in the weave of women's". The result is a comprehensive introduction to women's writing in the Renaissance that encourages the exploration of the differences between women.
Many would find it difficult to name a woman writer in England before Jane Austen, even though women were writing as early as the time of Chaucer. It was during the seventeenth century, however, that women writers ceased to be viewed as odd or remarkable and became accepted as regular and often respected members of the literary world. The enormous commercial and artistic success of Aphra Behn's plays on the London stage of the 1670s and '80s marked the end of the time where only men were literary luminaries. Major Women Writers of Seventeenth-Century Englandbrings together in one volume a rich assortment of writing by the women Behn influenced, as well as those who preceded her. Collected are works by Aphra Behn, Elizabeth Cary, Margaret Cavendish, Anne Finch, Aemelia Lanyer, Katherine Philips, Ester Sowernam, Rachel Speght, and Mary Wroth. The texts included are newly edited and rely on the best manuscripts and editions of the time.
Diverse Observations is a groundbreaking book available for the first time in English. Written by a midwife committed to improving the care of women and newborns, it records the evolution of Bourgeois's practice and beliefs, comments on changing attitudes related to reproductive health, and critiques the gendered elitism of the early modern medical hierarchy
Travitsky has assembled a broad anthology of writings by women who lived in England during the 16th and early 17th centuries. This is an exceedingly useful project, for many of the texts are not easily available. The anthology demonstrates how narrow and constricted a life was led by most of Shakespeare's female contemporaries.
Popular Fiction by Women 1660-1730 gathers together for the first time a representative selection of shorter fiction by the most successful women writers of the period, from Aphra Behn the first important English female professional writer, to Penelope Aubin and Eliza Haywood, who with Daniel Defoe dominated prose fiction in the 1720s. The texts included were among the best selling titles of their time, and played a key role in the expanding market for narrative in the early eighteenth century. Crucial to the development of the longer novel of manners and morals that emerged in the mid-eighteenth century these novellas have been much neglected by literary historians but now - with the impetus of feminist criticism - they have been re-established as an essential chapter in the history of the novel in English and are widely studied. Though strikingly varied in narrative format and purpose, ranging as they do from the erotic and sensational to the sentimental and pious, they offer a distinct fictional approach to the moral and social issues of the age from a female standpoint.
Teaching French Women Writers of the Renaissance and Reformation considers the issues critical to teaching recently rediscovered writers, such as Hélisenne de Crenne, Pernette du Guillet, and Louise Labé, who have enriched the literary canon by offering alternative perspectives on the social, political, and religious issues of early modern France. Addressing topics from law and medicine to motherhood and aesthetics, these women wrote in nearly every genre, and their works include several literary firsts: the first book of Christian emblems ever published by a woman (Georgette du Montenay), the first published collection of private letters between women in French (the Dames de Roches), and the first full-length memoir by a woman in French (Margaret of Valois). The volume considers techniques for reading women's writing alongside the texts of their male contemporaries and offers guidance on incorporating a range of resources into the classroom.
This anthology demonstrates women's participation in the construction of criticism as a literary genre. The selected writings, by forty-one of the women who produced criticism between 1660 and 1820, include writers from England, France, Germany, and the United States.
In contemporary pop culture, the pursuits regarded as the most frivolous are typically understood to be more feminine in nature than masculine. This collection illustrates how ideas of the popular and the feminine were assumed to be equally naturally intertwined in the eighteenth century, and the ways in which that association facilitates the ongoing trivialization of both. Top scholars in eighteenth-century studies examine the significance of the parallel devaluations of women's culture and popular culture by looking at theatres and actresses; novels, magazines, and cookbooks; and populist politics, dress, and portraiture. They also assess how eighteenth-century women have been re-imagined in contemporary historical fiction, films, and television, from the works of award-winner Beryl Bainbridge to Darcymania and Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. By reconsidering the cultural and social practices of eighteenth-century women, this fascinating volume reclaims the ostensibly trivial as a substantive cultural contribution.
This landmark bilingual Dutch-English anthology introduces women's writing in the Low Countries from 1200 to 1875 through a variety of texts characterised by the religious, social, political and feminist engagement of their authors, as well as their extraordinary artistic achievement. Dutch and Flemish female writers produced work of ardent religious passion, ranging from medieval mysticism through the scathing anti-Reformation polemic to pious Anabaptist reflections. Other writers addressed social and political debates. Talented authors made important contributions to established genres such as the sonnet.
We also have the ebook version: http://tripod.brynmawr.edu/find/Record/.b3769728.
Women's writing in Stuart England
"'It may peradventure ... appear strange to thee to recyve theas lines from a mother that dyed when thou weart born.' So writes Elizabeth Joscelin to her unborn daughter, shortly before dying in childbirth on 12 October 1622. As a godly woman, Joscelin was aware of her duty to instruct her child in religion. Prophetically fearing her death, she chose to embody her instruction in a text, a mother's legacy, through which she could (as it were) speak to her child from the dead. In 1624, a chaplain to the Archbishop of Canterbury, Thomas Goad, published Joscelin's legacy for a wider audience - but with significant changes." "This edition reproduces Joscelin's own manuscript for the first time, complete with her authorial revisions as well as notes of Goad's cuts and corrections. The result is an unusually rich and complete story of textual and cultural negotiations: not merely of Goad editing Joscelin, but also of Joscelin editing herself."--BOOK JACKET.
This anthology brings together a broad selection of women's writings from the Early Modern period, most of which are unavailable elsewhere. Unlike many anthologies in the field, this one is multigenre, including poetry, literary prose, polemical prose, and drama. Full texts and substantial extracts are included of writings by Elizabeth I, Margaret Cavendish, Anna Trapnel, Aphra Behn, Mary Carleton, Mary Herbert, Jane Anger, Rachel Speght, and others. Spelling and punctuation have been modernized. Augmenting the texts are brief biographies, bibliographies, an index of themes, and a general introduction covering the wider social and religious context in which women wrote and elucidating issues of feminism and feminine authorship.
La Cité des dames Series
La Cité des Dames is a publication series done by the Université de Saint-Étienne which presents French women's writings from the 16th and 17th centuries.
The following titles from the series are available in the three colleges: