Skip to main content

HIST 228: The French Revolution (HC)

History 228: The French Revolution (Graham)Spring 2018

Online Source Collections

There are some online collections available at Haverford for early modern printed texts.  They reproduce every page in a book and are searchable by word and phrase.

Sources in Printed Form

Some texts from the era of the French Revolution have been edited and published.
Notable titles available at Magill Library include:

Source Anthologies

Collections of primary texts in anthologies can be good for browsing. They touch on many different issues, often excerpting brief passages from full works that you can find in the tricolleges or through interlibrary loan.

Editions of sources not available in the tricolleges can be borrowed through E Z Borrow or interlibrary loan. Use the subject term "sources" to locate additional primary texts in Tripod and in WorldCat.

For example, the subject search france revolution women sources in WorldCat produces results including:

Women's travel writings in revolutionary France. Pickering & Chatto, 2007-. Among the texts included are: v. 3. Letters containing a sketch of the scenes which passed in various departments of France during the tyranny of Robespierre by Helen Maria Williams (1796) and A ten years' residence in France during the severest part of the revolution, from the year 1787 to 1797 by Charlotte West (1821).

Rare Book Collections

Selected Titles at Bryn Mawr's Rare Book Library

Often books printed in the 18th century are kept in libraries' rare book collections.  You can go to Bryn Mawr and other local libraries to see these books.

Librarians Eric Pomroy and Marianne Hansen have put together lists of titles at Bryn Mawr concerning France with pamphlets, periodicals, and books:

French Revolution Pamphlets

Books Relating to 18th Century France 2006

They welcome researchers from Haverford.  E-mail or phone them to tell them your research needs before going over to Special Collections.

Resources at the University of Pennsylvania

Maclure Collection of French Revolutionary Materials
More than 20 thousand pamphlets published in France, between 1788 and 1802.  Available in Special Collections and also on microfilm.

Primary Sources in French

Canaday Library at Bryn Mawr has a number of eighteenth century French publications in its Rare Book Collection. Browse these lists for a sense of the range of materials:
 
 
Librarians Eric Pumroy and Marianne Hansen welcome your questions and visits to use rare materials.  See the Special Collections page for hours and contact information.
 

Primary Sources in English

Primary sources, accounts and other kinds of documents written at the time of an event or era, allow a nuanced and detailed understanding of historical issues.  Sources can take many different forms.