Research Guides: *Economics*: Background Information

Background & Reference

Dictionaries of economics and business (from Credo Reference)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search a variety of dictionaries and encyclopedias of business and economics at Credo Reference (formerly Xreferplus), a subscription-based site that provides access to hundreds of cross-searchable reference books.
Doing Economics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A guide to understanding and carrying out economic research
Encyclopedia of Emerging Markets
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A business encyclopedia with articles on nations with social or business activity in the process of rapid growth and industrialization. Articles highlight and give statistics on key emerging industries within those economies.
Oxford Reference Online Dictionary of Economics
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of economics, including economic theory as well as applied micro and macroeconomics. It is a useful dictionary for professional economists as well as students and teachers of economics, business and finance.
Penguin Dictionary of Economics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Paragraph-length definitions of important topics in economics
Resources for economists on the Internet
Includes links to many data and reference sources

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Economic Surveys
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
OECD’s periodic reviews of member and non-member economies. Member country reviews are generally done on an 18 month cycle, while non-member reviews are done as agreed with the subject country. A minimum of 18 surveys are done each year. Each issue provides a comprehensive analysis of developments in the subject country, along with individual chapters covering key economic challenges being faced and recommendations for dealing with the challenges.

Major Organizations

World Bank
International Monetary Fund
OECD
World Trade Organization
Eurostat Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. It provides European Union statistics that enable comparisons between countries and regions.