Research Guides: CITY 185: Urban Culture and Society (BMC): Newspapers

Newspapers

Philadelphia Inquirer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The daily newspaper of record for the Philadelphia region. Online coverage 1860 to the present.
Philadelphia Tribune
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is the oldest continually running African-American newspaper, created in 1884 by Christopher James Perry, Jr. Coverage: 1912 to the present.

---------------------

Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for nearly 8,000 newspapers around the globe. Database covers 1977-present.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis, find newspaper and magazine articles, news transcripts, reference works, and legal materials, including Supreme Court cases. Includes the New York Times from 1980-present.
HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable database of full text legal periodicals and primary documents. Subscribed libraries include: Law Journal Library, U.S. Congressional Documents, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Supreme Court Library, and many others. Coverage for each periodical is from the beginning issue to the most current allowed under contract. Navigate to Help --> Knowledge Base to find helpful how-to articles and short training videos.