LATN 104: Introduction to Latin Literature: Friends and Enemies of Rome (HC)

Presents extensive annotated reading lists for authors, texts, and topics, with advice on editions, commentaries, translations, and recent studies. New articles are added twice a year. See articles of interest including:
"Latin Epigraphy" Thorough overview of reference tools, journals, linguistics, literacy, catalogs of inscriptions and Jewish and Christian epigraphy.
"Pompei- Social Identity" See discussions of the ways inscriptions provide knowledge about non-elite populations.
You can also learn more about the authors you are reading in class:
"Amicitia"
"Cicero"
"Horace's Odes"
"Seneca the Younger's Philosophical Works"
"Virgil"

Database with a very large number of Latin inscriptions. You can start by searching for a Latin word you want in the inscription. The results will show linked categories you can use to narrow or broaden your search. Entries for individual inscriptions may link out to images or records in other epigraphic databases. It is useful to note a CIL ID number if that is included in an entry.

Searchable database of Latin and bilingual Latin-Greek inscriptions of the Roman Empire.

"Allows access to the collection of squeezes, photographs and bibliographical references maintained by the CIL research center, sorted by inscription-number."- See under the tab Archive - Database. BMC and Swarthmore have the more recent print volumes of the Corpus not included in this website. CIL began publishing volumes in 1853 and remains an important resource for scholars. More recent volumes are often available only in print.