Navigating Primary Source Databases (BMC)

Haverford College Special Collections is rich in primary source material related to Asian history and culture. This guide presents some of the items that researchers may find useful. While many of the materials, particularly the manuscript materials, were originally created by Quakers doing missionary work in Asia, they have wide interest beyond their Quaker origins. Links to online collection guides or catalog records have been provided throughout the guide, but most sources must be consulted in paper in Special Collections. Librarians in Special Collections are eager to assist with research and may be contacted at hc-special@haverford.edu.

    Relevant collections within Adam Matthew Explorer:

• China, America and the Pacific
• China: Culture and Society
• China: Trade, Politics, and Culture, 1793-1980
• Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980

     Relevant collections within Archives Unbound include:

    Relevant collections within Gale include:

• See Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange

    Relevant collections within Adam Matthew Explorer:

• Foreign Office Files for Japan, 1919-1952
• Meiji Japan: Meiji Japan provides digital access to the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925), an American polymath notable for his work in natural history, ethnography, archaeology and art history. Morse was invited to teach at Tokyo Imperial University in the 1870s and travelled extensively in Japan, recording his experiences in great detail and maintaining a deep interest in the country and its culture for the remainder of his life. This resource, a digital edition of Morse's papers, provides insights into Japan during the Mejii Era (1868-1912) along with Morse's numerous and valuable contributions to a wide range of academic disciplines

Relevant collections in Adam Matthew Explorer:

• East India Company
• Empire Online
• Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan
• India Raj and Empire