Navigating Primary Source Databases (BMC)

A cross-search platform for XVIIIth and XIXth century primary sources collections offered by Gale.

This archive includes primary resource materials from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU). The records focus on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court. The collection includes: legal briefs, newspapers, internal memoranda, client correspondence, and committee reports.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 covers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis. It provides researchers with the documents necessary to delve deep into the Gay Rights Movement with resources that may otherwise go undiscovered. Repositories for this collection include: Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation; Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives; Women's Energy Bank; GLBT Historical Society; National Library of Medicine; among others.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century, has more than five thousand rare and unique books covering sex, sexuality, and gender issues across the sciences and throughout history.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: L'enfer de la Bibliothèque nationale de France is one of the most storied and sought-after private case collections of forbidden books.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: Community and Identity in North America offers perspectives on society, sexual identity, community building, and gender issues. This archive focuses on North America, with collections from Canada, the United States, and Mexico.The materials are mainly unique and unpublished. Instead of focusing on organizational papers and large periodical collections, this archive provides a more personal perspective, helping researchers get to know the individuals involved and their experiences.

Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Collections are chosen for Archives Unbound based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.

Offers full-text access to English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 including books, pamphlets, almanacs, Bibles and treatises. Subjects covered include history, geography, fine arts, medicine, science, literature, language, religion, philosophy and law. Significant collections of women writers, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare are also included.

Includes extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections.

Full text versions of books, magazines, and other materials published in the 19th century. This is a collection in development. Materials now in the database cover Asia and the West, British politics and society, high and popular culture in Britain, and European literature.

Searchable archives of the Smithsonian's vast collections, this resource combines rare nineteenth and twentieth century archival materials on such topics as World’s Fairs and trade literature and is paired with modern Smithsonian Magazine and Air & Space Magazine backfiles to present unique and comprehensive insight into history, science, nature, the arts, innovation, technology, and world culture.

Database of primary sources focusing on the social, political, and professional achievements of women during the 19th-20th centuries.

• Topics include: women's suffrage, reproductive rights, labor activism, pacifism, socialism, mental health, temperance
• Source types include: records of activist organizations, periodicals (e.g. magazines, newsletters), manuscripts, images, personal papers of individual women
• Time period: 19th-20th century
• Regions: Emphasizes United States and England. Also includes materials from Canada, Australia, and some other countries (mostly European).

The Swarthmore College Peace Collection contributed materials to this database.

Provides a cross-searching experience for exploring Gale's range of historical newspaper and archive collections. Users can simultaneously search or browse across multiple products owned by their institution, including: 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Part I; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series I: New Readerships; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series II: Empire; Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003; Economist Historical Archive; and Times Digital Archive 1785-1985.