Using "Digital Collections" (Tri-Co)

Whether you browse a collection or you search the site, you will come to a results page. The options at the top of the page can help you navigate through the list.

List of display options:

• Results per page: Choose to see 10, 25, or 50 results per page.
• List or Grid: Choose between a list or grid view. The grid view will present three or more collections per line on the page and can help you survey collections more quickly.
• Institution: Choose an institution from the dropdown to quickly refine your results to get a list of the available collections from an individual college. This option appears if you browse all collections.
• Pages: Click on each page number to navigate through the pages. You can also go to the next page or skip to the last page.

Browse or search results can be refined by selecting facets on the left side of the page. Similar to any web shop, you can add or remove facets to help you find the type of object you want. 

List of Available Facets:

• Creator: The person or entity that created the original item. There can be more than one. For example, a book might have its author and its cover designer listed, or a group of photographic negatives might have both the photographers and the organization that created the collection listed.
• Date Created: The date the original item was created.
• Genre: Genre describes the type of document or resource that has been digitized. The entire list of genres that have been used so far can be found at https://digitalcollections.tricolib.brynmawr.edu/taxonomy/vocab/genre. 
• Geographic Subject: This facet has not been used often, but it can describe when an object is about a particular region (for example, a travel diary about India).
• Member of: The digital collections in which an item has been placed. Typically, an item will only belong to one collection. A notable exception is photographs from the Swarthmore College Peace Collection which are cross listed in both the original collection and the Peace Collection Photographs collection.
• Subject (Topic): One or more terms that describe what an item is about. The entire list of all subjects that have been used so far can be found at https://digitalcollections.tricolib.brynmawr.edu/taxonomy/vocab/subject.
• Subjects (name): This facet is for when a resource is about a particular person, for example a portrait. It can also be used for organizations like a group portrait or a poster advertising the War Resisters League.
• Resource Type: This facet describes the digital object. It can be unhelpful because a “collection” in this case means any time there is more than one image per object. For instance, a book is a collection of pages.
• Rights Statement: When the copyright of an item is known, it may be listed here.
• Department: The specific repository to which an item belongs.

Tip: Facets can be very helpful, but keep in mind that many objects in the collections may not have been fully described and could be missing relevant facets.