Information about the item appears under "Item Description" in a box below the viewer. Some items may have a minimal description while others have a great deal of information written about them. Here are some of the kinds of information you may find.
List of Available Information:
- Member of: The digital collections in which an item has been placed. Typically, an item will only belong to one collection. A notable exception is photographs from the Swarthmore College Peace Collection which are cross listed in both the original collection and the Peace Collection Photographs collection.
- Description: A paragraph or two describing the item in detail.
- Linked Agent: This field describes people and organizations associated with the creation of the resource; creator, author, editor, etc. There can be more than one. For example, a book might have its author and its cover designer listed, or a group of photographic negatives might have both the photographers and the organization that created the collection listed.
- Date Created: The date the original item was created.
- Genre: Genre describes the type of document or resource that has been digitized. The entire list of genres that have been used so far can be found at https://digitalcollections.tricolib.brynmawr.edu/taxonomy/vocab/genre.
- Subject (Topic): One or more terms that describe what an item is about. The entire list of all subjects that have been used so far can be found at https://digitalcollections.tricolib.brynmawr.edu/taxonomy/vocab/subject.
- Subjects (name): This field is for when a resource is about a particular person, for example a portrait. It can also be used for organizations like a group portrait or a poster advertising the War Resisters League.
- Geographic Subject: This field has not been used often, but it can describe when an object is about a particular region (for example, a travel diary about India).
- Resource Type: This field describes the digital object. It can be unhelpful because a “collection” in this case means any time there is more than one image per object. For instance, a book is a collection of pages.
- Department: The specific repository to which an item belongs. You can contact them if you have any questions.
- Collection Guide: A link to the finding aid for the
- Rights Statement: When the copyright of an item is known, it may be listed here.
- Use and Reproduction: Guidelines for using the digital object, including whether it may be reproduced and suggestions for citation.
Remember: These are some of the most common types of information included in the description. There may be other information about the digital object depending on what type of item it is, when it was described, and how it was added to the database. If you have questions about an object, please contact the department for the item and they will be glad to help.
