Sources on Black History - HIST 340: Voices for Justice - Seven African American Lives (HC)

Sources - Voices for Justice

The Anglo-African Magazine by Thomas and Robert Hamilton, editors
Volume 1 (1859) includes serialized portions of Delany's novel, Blake. This is the only year available online in Hathi Trust. Volume 2, Number 1 has been digitized by Harvard and is available open access.
The Weekly Anglo-African published by Robert Hamilton is available online at Bryn Mawr, Vol. 1 , No. 1 (July 1859)-Vol. 1, Nos. 51-52 (July 1860).
The Black Abolitionist Papers by C. Peter Ripley (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2000-11-09
This five-volume documentary collection--culled from an international archival search that turned up over 14,000 letters, speeches, pamphlets, essays, and newspaper editorials--reveals how black abolitionists represented the core of the antislavery movement. Note in particular Vol. 2 for Canada and Vols. 3-5 for the United States. The individual volumes are searchable online.
Captain Paul Cuffe's Logs and Letters, 1808-1817 by Rosalind C. Wiggins
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1996-03-01
Presents original manuscripts that tell the story of Cuffe's efforts to undercut the slave trade by forming a trading cooperative in Sierra Leone, thus linking the United States, England, and small West African nations. Wiggins discusses the insurmountable obstacles Cuffe faced: the War of 1812, a trade embargo, and increased power of slave traders among others; the widespread network of African-American organizations that provided help; the deep concern for education within the black community; and the strength of the church in that community.
Condition, Elevation, Emigration, and Destiny of the Colored People of the United States by Martin R. Delany
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1591021596
The Condition, Elevation, and Destiny of the Colored People of the United States (1852) presents Delany's separatist views. To many scholars of African American political thought, this book marks the origin of black nationalism in print. However, its scope is much broader than this single focus might suggest. It is the first book-length study to present an account of the economic and political status of blacks in the United States.
I Must Resist: Bayard Rustin's Life in Letters by Bayard Rustin; Michael G. Long (Editor);
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0872865614
Publication Date: 2012-03-20
Here we have Rustin in his own words in a collection of over 150 of his eloquent, impassioned letters; his correspondents include the major progressives of his day. Bayard Rustin''s ability to chart the path "from protest to politics" is both timely and deeply informative.
Letters from a Man of Colour, on a Late Bill before the Senate of Pennsylvania by Forten, James
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1813
Forten argues against a bill, before the Senate of Pennsylvania, to prevent the emigration of people of color into the state. That bill was not enacted into law.
Martin R. Delany: A Documentary Reader by Robert S. Levine (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2003-02-28
Martin R. Delany (1812-85) has been called the "Father of Black Nationalism," but his extraordinary career also encompassed the roles of abolitionist, physician, editor, explorer, politician, army officer, novelist, and political theorist. Despite his enormous influence in the nineteenth century, and his continuing influence on black nationalist thought in the twentieth century, Delany has remained a relatively obscure figure in U.S. culture, generally portrayed as a radical separatist at odds with the more integrationist Frederick Douglass.
Mary Ann Shadd Cary - Douglass Day
Resources for information, primary sources and webinars concerning Shadd Cary as an activist, journalist and teacher.
Nine Black Women: an anthology of nineteenth-century writers from the United States, Canada, Bermuda, and the Caribbean by Moira Ferguson
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1134720092
Publication Date: 2015-12-22
Brings together work by some of the earliest black women writers. The texts represent a variety of genres, regions, professions, and political perspectives. Includes 13 pieces by Ann Mary Shadd Cary.
Provincial Freeman
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Anti-slavery newspaper edited by Mary Ann Shadd Cary and Samuel Ringgold Ward in Canada 1854-1857.
Reminiscences of School Life and Hints on Teaching by Fanny J. Coppin; Carolyn G. De Swarte, ed.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
This volume, originally published posthumously in 1913, is a four-part work including an autobiographical sketch (about Coppin's classical studies at Oberlin and her role as teacher and first black woman principal of a high school - the Institute for Colored Youth in Philadelphia); an essay setting forth her views and theories on education; a travelogue on her journeys to England and South Africa; and a description of her work as a missionary and educational activist in South Africa.

Source Collections for Black History

Black Life in America: The Experience and Impact of African Americans as Recorded by the News Media
- This link opens in a new window
Newly created resource. Delivers full texts and videos from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications from 1704 to the present. To start use the Suggested Searches to find subtopics or enter a keyword search.
Abdul Alkalimat - Websites
Websites from a scholar-activist with primary source documents, conference proceedings and resource lists concerning many different aspects of Black studies. Includes websites devoted to Malcom X , the Black experience viewed globally and action plans for the future of Black Studies.

Adam Matthew Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across Adam Matthew's primary source products for the social sciences and humanities.

African American History (Library of Congress)
Digital collections of documents, visual material, and other resources.

African American Newspapers: the 19th century
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, including presidential and congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. Also contains large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience. Covers 1827-1902 (with gaps).

African American Perspectives: Materials Selected from the Rare Book Collection (Library of Congress)
The 800 + titles in the collection range in date from 1822 through 1909. Most were written by Black authors and address a variety of issues.
Black authors, 1556-1922: imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia
This collection features works by authors of African or African-American descent over three centuries.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
Browse by subject or time period to find over 1600 documents dating from 1790 through 2000.
Black Quotidian: Everyday History in African-American Newspapers
"Black Quotidian explores everyday lives of African Americans in the twentieth century. Drawing on an archive of digitized African-American newspapers, Matthew F. Delmont guides readers through a wealth of primary resources that reveal how the Black press popularized African-American history and valued the lives of both famous and ordinary Black people"--Home page.
Civil Rights in a Northern City: Philadelphia (Temple University)
Draws on archival sources to document Philadelphia's history including:
Columbia Avenue Riots (1964)
Desegregation of Girard College (1954-1968)
Philadelphia Transit Strike of 1944
Digital Harlem: Everyday Life 1915-1930
Drawn from legal records, newspapers and other archival and published sources, about everyday life in New York City's Harlem neighborhood.

Ethnic Newswatch
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Articles from 1959-present.

History : African American: Primary Sources (University of Washington)
See the many open access resources on this page (those without a padlock icon). Note in particular the section for Civil Rights.
Last Seen: Finding Family after Slavery
This project digitizes and transcribes ads placed in newspapers across the United States (and beyond) by formerly enslaved people searching for family members and loved ones after emancipation. These ads began appearing in the 1830s and greatly increased in frequency in the years immediately following emancipation (1865) and continued well into the 20th century. The project is based at Villanova University and welcomes crowd-sourced transcriptions from the digital community.
Lynching in America
Documents more than 4400 racial terror lynchings in the United States during the period between Reconstruction and World War II.
Manumitted: The People Enslaved by Quakers
Presents information found within manumission documents held by Haverford College’s Quaker & Special Collections. The 339 manumissions are primarily from the greater Philadelphia area, and were created between 1765 and 1790. A major goal of this website is to highlight and center the stories and lives of enslaved people.

Papers of Amiri Baraka, poet laureate of the Black power movement
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The collection consists of materials from the years 1913 through 1998 that document African American author and activist Amiri Baraka and were gathered by Dr. Komozi Woodard in the course of his research. The extensive documentation includes poetry, organizational records, print publications, articles, plays, speeches, personal correspondence, oral histories, as well as some personal records. The materials cover Baraka's involvement in the politics in Newark, N.J. and in Black Power movement organizations such as the Congress of African People, the National Black Conference movement, the Black Women's United Front. Later materials document Baraka's increasing involvement in Marxism.

Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
- This link opens in a new window
Features transcriptions of close to 700 interviews from the 1970s with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.
SlaveVoyages
Data-driven collaborative websites focused on the enslaved in Trans-Atlantic and Intra-American trafficking.
Student Non Violent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) Digital Gateway
Organized in 1960 and mentored by the legendary Black organizer, Ella Baker, SNCC activists became full-time organizers, working with community leaders to build local grassroots organizations in the Deep South.
Voices of Civil Rights (Library of Congress)
Online exhibition featuring 20 oral histories recorded in 2004 by civil rights activists. Accompanied by historic photos and posters.

Major Book Collections

Early American Imprints: Series I, Evans (1639-1800)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers American history and literature from the colonial period to the eighteenth century. Provides full-text digitization of the Early American Imprints microform set, Series I (1639-1800).
Early American Imprints: Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers American history and literature from the colonial period to the eighteenth century. Provides full-text digitization of the Early American Imprints microform set, Series II (1801-1819). Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains digital images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. This collection contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Includes books, pamphlets, manuscripts and newspapers.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 including books, pamphlets, almanacs, Bibles and treatises. Subjects covered include history, geography, fine arts, medicine, science, literature, language, religion, philosophy and law. Significant collections of women writers, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare are also included.

HathiTrust Digital Library
A library of digitized material from partner institutions, much of which is text-level searchable. Older material no longer in copyright is available full text, while titles within copyright generally have only limited searching. Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges are members of HathiTrust. Click on "Log In" and select your college.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text versions of books, magazines, and other materials published in the 19th century. This is a collection in development. Materials now in the database cover Asia and the West, British politics and society, high and popular culture in Britain, and European literature.

Major Article Collections

Accessible Archives
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text primary resource materials in American history including newspapers, magazines, and genealogical records originally only offered on microfilm. Covers 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.
American Broadsides & Ephemera: Series I
- This link opens in a new window
Offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides (1820-1900) and 15,000 pieces of ephemera (1760 -1900) from the American Antiquarian Society collection. Subjects range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Material types include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations.
American Periodicals Series Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search through 1,800 magazines and journals published in the United States between 1740-1940. Includes early scientific publications, trade journals, popular magazines such as Ladies' Home Journal, and journals such as Puck, The Dial, and McClure's.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to newspaper pages from 1900 to 1910 and abstracts about American newspapers published between 1690 to the present.
Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship (NINES) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a peer-reviewed collection of digital projects on the the long 19th-century (1770-1920), British and American. Useful for identifying primary sources.
Eight Centuries
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over seventy seminal as well as lesser known contemporary indexes to English-language publishing prior to 1930. Access is by genre: 1. Multi-title Periodical Indexes (e.g., Poole's, Legal, Religion, Scientific Papers, etc.); 2. Book Indexes; 3. Newspaper Indexes; 4. Complete Individual Periodical Indexes (e.g., Harper's, Atlantic Monthly,etc.); 5. US Patents; Hansard's; US and UK Historical Government Documents
Readers' Guide Retrospective
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

Historic Newspapers

Newspapers shed light on events, public opinion, and social mores. Some titles are available through Tripod including:
New York Times Use the link for Proquest Historical Newspapers to have the best search options

This link opens in a new window

America's Historical Newspapers link opens in a new wind

For a fuller list of titles in Tripod, see the page Historical Sources on the News Sources research guide.

The London Times often serves as a newspaper of record for historical events:
Times Digital Archive (London)

This guide United States: Historical Newspapers from Utica College provides State by State lists of available online newspaper collections.

For newspapers not in Tripod, use WorldCat as your guide.

Search in WorldCat by subject as well as title: chinese newspapers Limited to Years 1880-1920
Look for the icon Microfilm. You will be able to borrow specific years on interlibrary loan.