Research Guides: HIST 350: Astrology (HC): Handbooks and Encyclopedias

History of Science Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Histories

Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Neo-Latin World
See Section VII Latin and the Sciences in the Macropaedia volume. Essays there include:
"Astronomy and Astrology"
HC has the title in print. BMC has access to the ebook version.
Cambridge History of Science. Volume 3 Early Modern Science and Volume 4 Eighteenth-century Science
Chapters are written by experts in the various fields, providing subject overviews, analysis and recommendations for further reading. Bmc and Swarthmore have ebook versions.
Companion to the History of Science
Provides a single-volume overview of current scholarship in the history of science edited by one of the leading figures in the field. Features forty essays by experts which reflect new approaches . Essays include "The Natural Philosopher," "The Court," "The Observatory" and "The Printing Press" as important factors. It is also available as a print copy.
Complete dictionary of scientific biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Instruments of Science: An Historical Encyclopedia
The entries in this work are written by a large group of scholarly experts who have drawn heavily on primary sources.

Encyclopedia of Tudor England
Primarily spans the period from the accession of Henry VII in 1485 to the death of Elizabeth I in 1603 with some background for the eras preceding and following the Tudor monarchs.
Information : A Historical Companion
See the entry "Horoscopes" by Monica Azzolini, pp. 486-90, as well as related entries including "Forecasting." Broader essays for the early modern period include: "Information in Early Modern Europe" and "Networks and the Making of a Connected World in the Sixteenth Century."

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond,from the earliest times to the year 2001. Articles focus on noteworthy people from all walks of life. No living person is included. Coverage varies.
Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Comprehensive reference work covering key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire and Islamic dynasties. Contains illustrations and maps. Most entries offer bibliographies. See the related articles list in the left-hand column for a fuller understanding of topics.

Oxford Handbook of Early Modern European History, 1350-1750
This two-volume set analyzes a broad range of crucial topics and provides select bibliographies of authoritative sources. Essays of special interest include:
"A Revolution in Information" Vol. 1, 244-265
"Royal Courts" Vol. 2, 440-477