Research Guides: HIST 210: Biopower (HC): Primary Sources Online

Source Collections in Tripod

Major online collections of primary sources available through Tripod are listed below. See the History Primary Sources Page for a fuller listing of source collections available in the TriColleges.

Adam Matthew Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across Adam Matthew's primary source products for the social sciences and humanities.

Adam Matthew Database Title List

American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language Project (ARTFL)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to classical French writings. Includes literary works, political tracts, philosophical writings and technical treatises. Coverage varies.

Black Life in America: The Experience and Impact of African Americans as Recorded by the News Media
Newly created resource. Delivers full texts and videos from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications from 1704 to the present. To start use the Suggested Searches to find subtopics or enter a keyword search.
China, trade, politics & culture, 1793-1980
Provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West from Macartney's first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74. It is one of the databases included in the Adam Matthew Explorer website.

Early American Imprints: Series I, Evans (1639-1800)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers American history and literature from the colonial period to the eighteenth century. Provides full-text digitization of the Early American Imprints microform set, Series I (1639-1800).
Early American Imprints: Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers American history and literature from the colonial period to the eighteenth century. Provides full-text digitization of the Early American Imprints microform set, Series II (1801-1819). Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains digital images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. This collection contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Includes books, pamphlets, manuscripts and newspapers.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 including books, pamphlets, almanacs, Bibles and treatises. Subjects covered include history, geography, fine arts, medicine, science, literature, language, religion, philosophy and law. Significant collections of women writers, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare are also included.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text versions of books, magazines, and other materials published in the 19th century. This is a collection in development. Materials now in the database cover (1) Asia and the West; (2) British politics and society; (3) British theatre, music and literature: high and popular culture in Britain; (4) Children's literature and childhood; (5) Europe and Africa: commerce, Christianity, civilization and conquest; (6) European literature, 1790-1840; (7) Maps and travel literature ; (8) Photography; (9) Religion and spirituality; (10) Science, technology and medicine; (11) Women's transnational networks..

Source Collections on the Web

Biblioteca Miguel Cervantes de las culturas hispánicas
Full text facsimiles of the works of Spanish and Latin American authors courtesy of the Universidad de Alicante, Spain
Digital Libraries/Collections by Region or Language (Harvard University)
This extensive list features online source collections by country or region. Many of the resources are available open access.
Gallica
Gallica is a digital library of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliothque nationale de France. Contains numerous electronic texts, images, maps, animation, and sound files of French and other publications in history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science. Covers the Middle Ages to the present.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A library of digitized material from partner institutions, much of which is text-level searchable. Older material no longer in copyright is available full text, while titles within copyright generally have only limited searching. Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges are members of HathiTrust. Click on "Log In" and select your college.
Pennsylvania Digital Library
This cooperative collection brings together digitized volumes from academic libraries and historical societies.