MUSI 029: Africa Through Musical Ethnography (SC)

An excellent annotated bibliography. After an introduction, includes Foundational Works, Regional and Ethnic Analyses, General Overviews, African Dance, Popular/Contemporary Styles, Reference Works and Musical Resources, Bibliographies, Discographies, and Catalogues, Journals, Methodology and State of the Field, Special Issues and Topics.

An excellent annotated bibliography. After an introduction includes sections on General Vverviews, Tuning and Timbre, Rhythm, The Oral Epic, Music and Ritual Healing, Music in African Christianity, Popular Music, Competition, Social Criticism, and Censorship, and Women and Gender in African Music.

An excellent annotated bibliography. After an introduction includes sections on General Overviews, Reference Works, Journals, National and Regional Studies, Diasporas, Ethnolinguistic Groups, Genre-Specific Studies, Popular Musics of the Twentieth Century, and Women as Professional Performers.

A good overview article with sections on Ethnic groups, languages and style areas, Historical sources and research history, Musical structures and cognition, Music and society, and Modern developments. Includes an excellent bibliography.

"An exhaustive collection of thirty-nine essays written by scholars from four continents. Contains extensive information and citations. Highly recommended as a reference source for undergraduates."

2016, "The world of Sub-Saharan African music is immensely rich and diverse, containing a plethora of repertoires and traditions. In The African Imagination in Music, renowned music scholar Kofi Agawu offers an introduction to the major dimensions of this music and the values upon which it rests. Agawu leads his readers through an exploration of the traditions, structural elements, instruments, and performative techniques that characterize the music. In sections that focus upon rhythm, melody, form, and harmony, the essential parts of African music come into relief. While traditional music, the backbone of Africa's musical thinking, receives the most attention, Agawu also supplies insights into popular and art music in order to demonstrate the breadth of the African musical imagination. Close readings of a variety of songs, including an Ewe dirge, an Aka children's song, and Fela's 'Suffering and Smiling' supplement the broader discussion. The African Imagination in Music foregrounds a hitherto under-reported legacy of recordings and insists on the necessity of experiencing music as sound in order to appreciate and understand it fully. Accordingly, a Companion Website features important examples of the music discussed in detail in the book. Accessibly and engagingly written for a general audience, The African Imagination in Music is poised to renew interest in Black African music and to engender discussion of its creative underpinnings by Africanists, ethnomusicologists, music theorists and musicologists."

2010, "The Garland Handbook of African Music is comprised of essays from The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Volume 1, Africa, (1997). Revised and updated, the essays offer detailed, regional studies of the different musical cultures of Africa and examine the ways in which music helps to define the identity of this particular area. Part One provides an in-depth introduction to Africa. Part Two focuses on issues and processes, such as notation and oral tradition, dance in communal life, and intellectual property. Part Three focuses on the different regions, countries, and cultures of Africa with selected regional case studies. The second edition has been expanded to include exciting new scholarship that has been conducted since the first edition was published. Questions for Critical Thinking at the end of each major section guide and focus attention on what musical and cultural issues arise when one studies the music of Africa -- issues that might not occur in the study of other musics of the world. An accompanying audio compact disc offers musical examples of some of the music of Africa."

revised edition 2002, published in Ghana. A broad overview of the music of Africa with section on society and musical from, instruments, emotional and aesthetic content, the role of music in life, and important festivals.

1992. Includes a section on the political economy of African music as well as sections on about 40 different countries.

Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, scores, recordings, dissertations, journals and other material owned by Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to your library. Try subject searches on music arab or music middle east.

This is a gigantic catalog of millions of materials owned by libraries all over the world describing books, essays, scores, videos, sound recordings, websites, and manuscript collections. If you find something in WorldCat not owned by the Tri-Colleges we can probably get it for you.

The premier index for researching in music, describing books, essays, journal articles, dissertations, documentaries, conference proceedings, bibliographies, discographies, concert reviews, recording notes. Most citations include abstracts.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.