Research Guides: MUSI 029: Africa Through Musical Ethnography (SC): Finding Articles

Browsing

Muziki : journal of music research in Africa.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
2004-
Journal of the musical arts in Africa
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
2004-
African music
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1954-
Music in Africa
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Music In Africa is easily the fastest growing information and exchange web portal dedicated to the African music sector, reaching millions of people every year. A non-profit initiative, Music In Africa aims to support the African music sector through knowledge exchange and fostering collaboration. With access to seasoned music journalists and researchers from across the world, we offer a unique range of quality and useful content about the sector. "
African Music Journals in the Tri-College Libraries
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A customized Tripod search

Searching Best Bets

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The premier index for researching in music, describing books, essays, journal articles, dissertations, documentaries, conference proceedings, bibliographies, discographies, concert reviews, recording notes. Most citations include abstracts.
Proquest Performing Arts Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.
Africa Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This authoritative guide to works in African studies is a rich resource for all scholars interested in the study of Africa.
African Studies Abstracts Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1968-2017
AllAfrica
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"AllAfrica publishes around 800 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons."

More Searching

ProQuest Music Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database, formerly known as "International Index to Music Periodicals" provides abstracts to music titles. Offers articles in full-text for over 80 periodicals. Covers all aspects of music including education, composition, theory and ethnomusicology. Covers 1874-present. Full-text begins in the mid-1990s-present.

The Music Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print index covering 1949-2002. Good to use as a supplement to online indexes for finding materials from the mid 20th-century.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to more than 1,300 arts and humanities journals and to relevant articles on arts and humanities in over 5,800 social science and science journals. Records include articles, bibliographies, editorials and reviews. Covers 1980-present.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.