Research Guides: HIST 350: Decolonial Histories of Mathematics and Astronomy (HC): Background

Finding Background Information

The sources on this page provide overviews of ideas, people, and branches of study in the history of science. These sources are a quick way to find out the basic facts and understand current points of debate.

When using an article in an encyclopedia or handbook, always check the bibliography for further reading at the end of the article. It will provide a selective list of the books, articles, and, frequently, Web resources considered to be the most up-to-date and reliable.

History of Science Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Histories

Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Neo-Latin World
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
See Section VII Latin and the Sciences in the Macropaedia volume. Essays there include: "Astronomy and Astrology"
BMC has access to the ebook version.
Cambridge History of Science. Vol. 1 Ancient Science; Vol. 2 Medieval Science; Vol. 3 Early Modern Science; Vol. 4 Eighteenth-Century Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Emphasis is on developments in Europe. Chapters are written by experts in the various fields, providing subject overviews, analysis and recommendations for further reading. BMC and Swarthmore have ebook versions. See Tripod for links to individual volumes. HC has vols. 2-6 in print copies.
A companion to astrology in the Renaissance
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essays include:
The Culture of Astrology from Ancient to Renaissance / Hubner, Wolfgang / p. 17
Representation of the Skies and the Astrological Chart / Bezza, Giuseppe / p. 59
Reading the Peruvian Skies / Brosseder, Claudia / p. 399
Companion to the History of Science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a single-volume overview of current scholarship in the history of science. Features forty essays by experts which reflect new approaches. Essays include discussions of global developments in terms of such themes as "The Court" and "The Observatory". The book is also available as a print copy.
Complete dictionary of scientific biography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Encyclopedia of the history of Arabic science
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This three volume set features essay-length chapters rather than short encyclopedia articles. The authors are leading scholars who write insightful, lively analyses that help readers understand the importance of the issues.
Instruments of Science: An Historical Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The entries in this work are written by a large group of scholarly experts who have drawn heavily on primary sources.
Islamic Astronomers
Entries for Islamic astronomers from the Biographical Encyclopedia of Astronomers are available open access.
Medieval science, technology, and medicine
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This subject encyclopedia includes articles on topics as well as important figures. Bibliographies at the ends of articles are often extensive. Note the cross references that refer to related articles for additional information.
Oxford Handbook of the History of Mathematics
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This global history covers the Greek and Roman, Arabic and Asian contributions to the understanding of mathematics.
Science, Technology and Medicine in Colonial India
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This book investigates the relationship between Indian and western science, the nature of science, technology and medicine under the Company, the creation of state-scientific services, 'imperial science' and the rise of an Indian scientific community.

Reference Works in Related Fields

Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes a major encyclopedia of art as well as other reference works. The entries are enhanced by numerous illustrations and links to artworks.
Oxford Classical Dictionary
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Classical Dictionary is a major reference in the field of classics. Now it is revised and updated continuously online to include the very latest research findings, developments, and publications.

Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference work covering key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire and Islamic dynasties. Contains illustrations and maps. Most entries offer bibliographies. See the related articles list in the left-hand column for a fuller understanding of topics.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond,from the earliest times to the year 2001. Articles focus on noteworthy people from all walks of life. No living person is included. Coverage varies.