Research Guides: ENGL 399: Senior Conference (HC) : Visual Sources

Images as Sources

Travel poster from the India State Railways Bureau, circa 1920 (Source: Wikimedia Commons)

Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is an art reference library that searches Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. This resource contains images, biographies, subject entries, and thematic timelines (antiquity to present).

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Extremely rich site for understanding the art of a particular region and time. Use the Time Period and Geographic menus to see key Works of Art, Related Exhibitions, and, under Related Content, Thematic Essays.

Banque d'images (Bibliothèque nationale)
Many images from France's Bibliothèque nationale collections are searchable here.
British Museum Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts
Searchable database of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts with descriptions of individual images.
Digital Image Collections
New York Public Library has digitized many of its notable art and photography collections to aid researchers.
Image Sources (Princeton University)
See sources for images including libraries, museums and organizations.
Wellcome Images
The Wellcome Library makes more than 40,000 images searchable online relating to medicine and social history. Note that the Advanced Search includes a year range option.