ENGL 399: Senior Conference (HC)

This journal publishes literature reviews exclusively. Literature reviews are a particularly useful kind of journal article when doing research. They address the issues involved in a particular question and the debates among scholars. They map out the intellectual terrain succinctly and give you the major landmarks in terms of key authors and significant titles for greater understanding.
Recent example:
Luke Thurston
"Unclean Stream: Representing Selfhood in Joyce and Lewis"
June 2020 Part of a special issue: One Hundred Years of the Stream of Consciousness
Abstract: This article explores questions of selfhood in Joyce's Ulysses and the early work of Wyndham Lewis. I argue that although Joyce apparently uses the stylistic technique of “stream of consciousness” to unravel the consistent agency of the conscious ego, in so doing his writing both echoes the discoveries of early twentieth century science and re‐inscribes the ethical potential of subjectivity. I follow the trajectory of Scott Klein by examining the supposed literary rivalry between Joyce and Wyndham Lewis in terms of contrasting strategies for representing the “I” and the eye, the ego and the gaze. In Lewis' early work with its “wild anthropology,” I trace a critique of the model of subjectivity implied by “stream of consciousness,” a critique that anticipates key aspects of psychoanalytic theory. By switching the narrative centre from the logocentric “I” to the toxic gaze of the Other, Lewis aims to challenge the metaphysical presuppositions of “stream of consciousness” and thus expose one of the defining techniques of modernist writing as deluded or fraudulent. I conclude by examining the political dimension of Lewis' early work, arguing that the modernist stream of consciousness should be seen not merely as a stylistic practice but as an ethical one (in the sense indicated by Marian Eide).

This is a list of Oxford Handbooks available in the tri-colleges, including online copies at Haverford and print titles in the tri-colleges. Add keywords to narrow the search to identify useful titles in the series.
Pertinent titles include:
Oxford Handbook of Anglo-Saxon Archaeology
Oxford Handbook of Children's Literature
Oxford Handbook of Cognitive Literary Studies Click the link for the table of contents on this Oxford University Press page. Many essays relate to your thesis topics.
Oxford Handbook of Modern and Contemporary American Poetry
Oxford Handbook of Postcolonial Studies

This service provides full text of many recent dissertations written at British universities. Some are available for immediate download, while others take a day or two for delivery.

For searching across digital collections of theses in several different European countries, including the UK, France, Germany, Italy, Greece.