Skip to Main Content

Chesick Program: Visualizing Europe/The European Union/The United States of Europe (HC)

Visualizing Europe/The European Union/The United States of Europe: - Challenges of the 21st Century (Brust) Summer 2020

Popular Articles Versus Scholarly Articles

  Popular Scholarly
Author Staff writer; journalist Expert in the field; known credentials
Audience General public Scholars, researchers
Language Little technical language or subject-specific concepts Uses technical language and subject-specific concepts
Coverage

Broad topics; shallow coverage; little or no original

research; shorter length 

Narrow topics; in-depth coverage; original research; new

ideas; longer length
Documentation Usually no bibliography Bibliography present
Peer-reviewed? No

Often reviewed by scholars in the field prior to publication and 

improved by their critiques

Journal Indexes

The databases below allow you to search for journal articles by subject. Use the filters to focus your search results by such categories as type of publication (scholarly versus popular) or by publications years.

When you find a title of interest, if the full text is not immediately available (as is often the case with Proquest), use the Find It button   to access Haverford's copy of the article.  If we don't have access to the article, you will be linked to the Article Request form, so that you can have a copy sent to your email often in as little as two working days.

Evaluating Your Results

The resources here on journal articles will provide you with scholarly material for your essay.  When you select and read articles, be aware of the following issues:

    • Expertise - What is the author's training?  Has he or she published other material in this subject area?

    • Audience - Who are the intended readers?  Is it for the general public or for college students and researchers?

    • Discipline Focus - What subject approach does the author take?  Historical, political, literary?  If literary, is there a special interest in a particular kind of interpretation, such as linguistic, psychoanalytic or gendered?
    • Argument - What ideas does the author put forward?  See the accompanying abstract or skim the first page or two of the article.

    • Documentation - Is there a bibliography for further reading?  Are there titles there that are new to you and look relevant?

    • Date - When was the article published?  Do you need to find a more recent point-of-view?