Research Guides: ANTH 398/399: Senior Conference (BMC): Scholarly Journal Articles

Anthropology-specific Databases

AnthroSource
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles from American Anthropological Association journals, newsletters, and bulletins. Covers 1888-present. Use the Advanced Search option available when you click in the search box.
Anthropology Plus
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Multidisciplinary Databases and Search Engines

Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports in all disciplines. Linked to Tripod.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
ProQuest Social Science Database This database, formerly known as "ProQuest Social Science Journals" provides citations and abstracts to articles from about 450 social sciences periodicals. Full-text/images are available for over 200 of the periodicals indexed. Coverage from 1994 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Databases from other related disciplines

The following are several of the specialized databases in areas that often overlap with Anthropology.

Africa-Wide Offers access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa including books, journal articles, maps and music recordings. Some materials are in full-text. Covers 19th century-present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database + ATLA Serials (American Theological Library Association) Provides online access to the entire core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly journals in the field of religion. Also provides citation information for journal articles, book reviews and essays for over 600 journals in the fields of religion and theology. Covers 1949-present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) Comprehensive database of education research, including journal articles, books, reports, and other sources.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also freely available through www.eric.ed.gov.
Ethnologue Contains information on the world's over 7000 known living languages. Includes alternate names, dialects, number of speakers, multilingualism, demographic and sociolinguistic information when known. Includes country index with maps, language names index, language codes and language families index. Haverford and Swarthmore have access to all Ethnologue content via a subscription; Bryn Mawr has limited free page views to full content.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index Contains citations to scholarly journal articles published in Latin America, Mexico, Central America and the Caribbean, and to materials that address this region and U.S. Hispanic topics. Covers political, economic, and social issues. Some citations link to full-text articles. Covers 1970-present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LLBA: Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts Contains abstracts of the world's literature in linguistics and language-related research, including journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations and some conference proceedings. Covers all aspects of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology,syntax and semantics. Includes historical, comparative, theoretical and social linguistics and related disciplines such as anthropology, education, and ethnology. Covers 1973-present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PrimateLit This link opens in a new window Provides citations to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates. Subject areas include: behavior, ecology, reproduction, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology and genetics. Covers 1940-2018, when the database was archived.
PsycINFO Essential database of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in psychology and related behavioral sciences from 1887 - present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes PsycARTICLES journals.
PubMed Free database of biomedical and related life and behavioral sciences journal articles. Includes MEDLINE index and links to PubMed Central open access articles when available.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect Provides full-text,online access to journal articles in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Full-text is available only for journals to which the TriColleges subscribe. Full-text access for most journals goes back to 1993. Abstracts are available for non-subscribed journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts Find journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers in the fields of sociology, social work and related disciplines as far back as 1963. Includes Social Services Abstracts journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies International Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, newspapers, dissertations and bulletins, in the core areas of women's studies. Subjects include, feminism, women of color, science, health and technology. Includes different women's studies resources. Covers 1972-present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window