Research Guides: ANTH 398/399: Senior Conference (BMC): Image & Video Resources

Best Bets for Ethnographic Video

AVON (Academic Video Online)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage. Also includes the Ethnographic Video Online, listed separately below.
Ethnographic Video Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, online in streaming video. Includes footage from every continent and hundreds of unique cultures.

Kanopy
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Kanopy offers pay-per-title access to a wide variety of documentaries and film festival winners.

Smithsonian Institution Anthropology Collection
The Smithsonian has extensive collections of artifacts, photographs, and film. Much of the material is described and indexed in databases on this site.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Collection
The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

You can search the collection or browse by subject.

TriCollege Libraries Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Find digital images and manuscripts from the TriCollege Libraries.

Access the digital collections of Bryn Mawr College Special Collections, Haverford College Special Collections, Swarthmore College Friends Historical Library and Swarthmore College Peace Collection.

Includes primary source material in the areas of advertising, botany, peace studies, Quakerism, theater, women's studies and more.

Looking for materials that are physically available at the libraries? Search Archives & Manuscripts (TriCollege Libraries).
TriArte: The Art & Artifacts Database of the TriColleges This link opens in a new window
TriArte features art and artifacts from Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges.