Research Guides: GREK 202: Advanced Greek: Tragedy (HC): Criticism

Finding Scholarly Studies in Books

Use the Tripod catalog to look for relevant books owned by Haverford, Bryn Mawr, and Swarthmore.

The following subject searches are a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic, try doing a title search in the Tripod Catalog to find some relevant material and then use the subject headings assigned to those titles to find more books.

(traged* OR drama OR theat*) greek influence [Keyword search]

theater* (greece OR greek) (perform* OR actor*) [Keyword]

"greek drama (tragedy) history and criticism" [Subject] Newest titles first

politic* (greece OR greek) (drama OR tragedy) [Subject]

Tripod Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges each have their own Tripod catalog. Use Tripod to find relevant scholarship owned by your home library as well as print resources at the other two schools. To see digital material owned only by BMC, use the BMC Tripod link (tripod.brynmawr.edu). You will need to be on the BMC campus in order to access those digital resources.
Change the resource group on the search bar to limit results to specific materials like books and films.
Use the Request link in an item's record to have it delivered to the library of your choice . Note that you need to log into Tripod in order to see the Request link. If you are already in Tripod, use the Sign In link at the top of every page to log in.

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries worldwide.

WorldCat is an important place to look for many materials not owned by the Tricollege Libraries. This combined library catalog contains more than 1 billion titles owned by libraries around the world. Many of these items are available to you though interlibrary loan. Use the button to place requests.

Borrowing beyond the Tri-Co
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1. E-Z Borrow - Request books that are not available in Tripod. It usually takes three days or less for E-Z Borrow books to arrive.
2. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - Request books not in E-Z Borrow. They can come in as little as four or five days. Also use ILL to request films, dissertations, sound recordings, and other materials.
3. Articles - Request journal articles not available in your college library. You will receive digital copies of the articles in your email sometimes as quickly as the following day.

Finding Criticism in Journals

Année Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings and essays in collections on many different subjects relating to Classical Studies including philosophy, history and literature. Covers 1928-present.
See this list for the abbreviations used for each journal indexed in the database.
Gnomon Online
This online index is maintained by the venerable German journal Gnomon. It allows you to search by title word, author, and journal name, as well as by subject terms established in the Thesaurus in both German and English.
Note that the citations listed represent only 15% percent of the total listings in the Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank (which is not accessible in the three colleges).

TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists This link opens in a new window
Provides the tables of contents from a selection of Classics,Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. Subjects covered include: Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman history, archaeology, mythology,and the Ancient Near East. About ten percent of the entries link to the full text of the articles. Covers published works from 1992-present.

Finding Book Reviews

Bryn Mawr Classical Review

Book Review Index
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications. Covers 1965-present.

Classical Review
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This journal publishes only book reviews, averaging 90 full-length reviews per issue. The viewpoints are generally critical and informed.