Research Guides: CSTS & COML 202: Bawdy Bodies: Comedies of the Grotesque in Antiquity and the Renaissance(HC): History and Criticism

Research Guides

Oxford Bibliographies Online. Classics
Presents detailed reading lists for authors, texts, and topics, with advice on commentaries, translations, and recent studies. See, for example:
"Aristophanes".
"Greek Theater Production"
"Petronius"
"The Roman Novel"
New articles are added twice a year to all the Oxford Bibliographies subject areas..
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Renaissance and Reformation.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive annotated reading lists about topics, people and events from the 14th through the 17th century. Relevant essays include:
"France in the 16th Century".
"François Rabelais".
"Shakespeare".

Finding Scholarly Studies in Books

Use the Tripod catalog This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window to look for relevant books owned by Haverford, Bryn Mawr, and Swarthmore.

The following subject searches are a sampling of possibilities. To find materials on a topic, try doing a title search in the Tripod Catalog to find some relevant material and then use the subject headings assigned to those titles to find more books.

rabelais francois [Subject] Limited to English language publications

(farce OR satir* OR grotesque*) [Keyword] AND 16th [Subject search]

("same sex" OR homoerotic*) [Keyword] AND (rome OR roman OR classical) [Subject] Sorted by newest titles listed first

Tripod Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod to find relevant scholarship owned by the tri-college libraries. Change the resource group on the search bar to limit results to specific materials like books and films.
Use the Request link in an item's record to have it delivered to the library of your choice . Note that you need to log into Tripod in order to see the Request link. If you are already in Tripod, use the Sign In link at the top of every page to log in..

WorldCat
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.

Borrowing beyond the Tri-Co
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1. E-Z Borrow - Request books that are not available in Tripod. It usually takes three days or less for E-Z Borrow books to arrive.
2. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - Request books not in E-Z Borrow. They can come in as little as four or five days. Also use ILL to request films, dissertations, sound recordings, and other materials.
3. Articles - Request journal articles not available in your college library. You will receive digital copies of the articles in your email sometimes as quickly as the following day.

Selected Essay Collections

Approaches to Teaching the Works of François Rabelais by Todd W. Reeser (Editor); Floyd Gray (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781603290975
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
This volume highlights materials that can be used to understand Rabelais: editions, translations, criticism, Web sites, music, artwork, and films. Thirty-four essays present strategies for learning about the classical and biblical allusions; the context of humanism and evangelical reform; various themes (giants, monsters, war); both feminism and masculinity as vexing subjects; Rabelais's erudition; and his inventive language, ambiguity, and obscenity.
A Cultural History of Sexuality by Mark Golden (Editor); Peter Toohey (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781472539205
Publication Date: 2014-01-16
See Volume One The Classical World and Volume Three The Renaissance. Essays cover sexual practices, feelings, and ideas as well as religious and legal issues, popular beliefs about sexuality, prostitution and erotica.
Oxford Readings in Aristophanes by Erich Segal (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0198721579
Publication Date: 1996-08-01
Brings together important contributions to the study of Aristophanes published over the last several decades. Subjects range from the classic question of Aristophanes' relationship to contemporary politics to more modern issues including feminism, gender, performance context, and the interaction between fifth century comedy and tragedy.
Petronius: a handbook by Jonathan R. W. Prag; Ian D. Repath (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405156875
Publication Date: 2009-02-17
Petronius: A Handbook unravels the mysteries of the Satyrica, including a dozen original essays by a team of leading Classics scholars Explores the novel's literary structure, social and historic contexts, and modern reception
The Merry Wives of Windsor by Evelyn Gajowski (Editor); Phyllis Rackin (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780415845045
Publication Date: 2014-09-19
The Merry Wives of Windsor has recently experienced a resurgence of critical interest. Developments in feminist, ecocritical and new historicist criticism have opened up new perspectives and this collection of 18 essays sheds fresh light on the play.

Finding Scholarly Studies in Journals

Année Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annèe Philologique is useful for researchers in the classics, philosophy, history, art, archaeology, and the humanities. It contains publication information for articles for the years 1924 to the present.
Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of journal articles, essays in books, book reviews and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Note that you can specify the historical time period you want in your initial search by entering a beginning and ending year.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Covers Greek and Roman literature only in the context of its influence on authors in later eras. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.