Research Guides: MUSC 222: Bach and The Baroque (HC): Finding Articles

Searching

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers material published in music and various other fields as they relate to music. Records appear in over a hundred languages. The majority of citations include abstracts. Articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, Festschriften, films, and videos are all covered by RILM. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals if they are of scholarly interest.
ProQuest Music Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database, formerly known as "International Index to Music Periodicals" provides abstracts to music titles. Offers articles in full-text for over 80 periodicals. Covers all aspects of music including education, composition, theory and ethnomusicology. Covers 1874-present. Full-text begins in the mid-1990s-present.
ProQuest Performing Arts Database‎
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database, formerly known as "International Index to the Performing Arts" provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to more than 1,300 arts and humanities journals and to relevant articles on arts and humanities in over 5,800 social science and science journals. Records include articles, bibliographies, editorials and reviews. Covers 1980-present.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full-text magazine and journal articles in a wide variety of disciplines, both scholarly and popular in scope. Covers 1971-present.
Dissertations & Theses
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.

The Music Index
Print index covering 1949-2002. Good to use as a supplement to online indexes for finding materials from the mid 20th-century.

General Musicology Journals

Journal of the American Musicological Society This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window

One of the premier journals in the field, the Journal of the American Musicological Society (JAMS) publishes scholarship from all fields of musical inquiry: from historical musicology, critical theory, music analysis, iconography and organology, to performance practice, aesthetics and hermeneutics, ethnomusicology, gender and sexuality, popular music and cultural studies.

Acta musicologica This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window

“Acta Musicologica, published by the International Musicological Society (IMS), is one of the world’s oldest and most renowned musicological journals. Emphasis is placed on methodological cooperation between all musicological sub-disciplines as well as on the integration of related fields. Acta publishes up to twelve articles per year on an ongoing basis. Contributions can be submitted at any time”. – From publisher.

Journal of Musicology This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window

The Journal of Musicology (JM) is a refereed, international quarterly journal devoted to exemplary scholarship across the spectrum of music studies. As a leading disciplinary forum founded in 1981 by Marian Green, JM reflects the breadth of musicology today and helps to shape the future trajectory of cross-disciplinary humanistic inquiry. Through its long-standing tradition of publishing the most exciting work by younger scholars alongside the contributions of senior scholars, JM continues to expand the perimeters of musicology in a spirit of openness, diversity, and academic excellence.

Specialized Journals

Early Music
Early Music is a stimulating and richly illustrated journal, and is unrivalled in its field. Founded in 1973, it remains the journal for anyone interested in early music and how it is being interpreted today. Contributions from scholars and performers on international standing explore every aspect of earlier musical repertoires, present vital new evidence for our understanding of the music of the past, and tackle controversial issues of performance practice.
Early music history
Early Music History is devoted to the study of music from the early Middle Ages to the end of the seventeenth century. It gives

preference to studies pursuing interdisciplinary approaches and to those developing new methodological ideas. The scope is

broad and includes manuscript studies, textual criticism, iconography, studies of the relationship between words and music,

and the relationship between music and society.
Journal of seventeenth-century music
The Journal of Seventeenth-Century Music (JSCM) is published by the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music to provide a refereed forum for scholarly studies of the musical cultures of the seventeenth century. These include historical and archival studies, performance practice, music theory, aesthetics, dance, and theater. JSCM also publishes critical reviews and summary listings of recently published books, scores, and electronic media.
Eighteenth-Century Music
Eighteenth-Century Music is a well-established journal dedicated to all areas of eighteenth-century music research. Its generous breadth of coverage includes, alongside articles and essays by both leading and emerging scholars, a wide range of reviews and a communications section that reports on conferences and other items of interest from around the world.

Journal of Renaissance and Baroque Music