Skip to main content
Check Bryn Mawr's, Haverford's, or Swarthmore's library websites for additional resources during COVID-19.

Special Collections at Bryn Mawr

How to access Special Collections at Bryn Mawr College

Visit / Make an Appointment

The Reading Room of Special Collections is located on the 2nd Floor of Canaday Library (Suite 200). 

Visit the Reading Room of Special Collections during public hours, ONLY if:  

  • a staff member has already pulled materials for you to use 
    • You may be a student in a course for which materials have been pulled and placed on reserve for you. 
    • You may have made an appointment with a staff member to view particular materials.
  • you have an appointment with a staff member

Make an appointment to visit Special Collections, if:

  • you'd like to view a particular item held in Special Collections
    1. Search online collections to locate materials of interest (Please note that searches are collections-specific, see menu at left.)  
    2. Email speccoll@brynmawr.edu or make an appointment with a specific staff member
    • Specify the object(s) or collections of interest (use accession numbers and links, if possible)
    • Include your name, the purpose of your visit, and your availability
  • you'd like to speak with a staff member
    1. about recommendations for relevant collections, about developing course assignments that involve collections materials, about scheduling class visits to collections
    2. Email speccoll@brynmawr.edu or make an appointment with a specific staff member

 

About Special Collections

The Special Collections Department manages the College’s extensive collections of rare books, manuscripts, art works, cultural artifacts, and the college’s archives, and promotes engagement with the collections through exhibitions, classroom instruction, research project support, internships, and public programs.