A to Z entries
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society (2007) by
Brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature. Includes more than 1,200 entries written by experts from incredibly diverse fields.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Companion to Global Change (2008) by
Offers an up-to-date, comprehensive, interdisciplinary guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced changes in the Earth's environment. Brings together current knowledge about the relations between technological, social, demographic, economic, and political factors as well as biological, chemical, and physical systems.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowChapter entries contributed by different scholars
The Oxford Handbook of Climate Change and Society (2011) by
Presents an analysis of this issue that draws on the best thinking on questions of how climate change affects human systems, and how societies can, do, and should respond. Key topics covered include the history of the issues, the social and political reception of climate science, the denial of that science by individuals and organized interests, the nature of the social disruptions caused by climate change, the economics of those disruptions and possible responses to them, questions of human security and social justice, obligations to future generations, policy instruments for reducing greenhouse gas emissions, and governance at local, regional, national, international, and global levels.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Handbook of Environmental Political Theory (2016) by
Set at the intersection of political theory and environmental politics, yet with broad engagement across the environmental social sciences and humanities, The Oxford Handbook of Environmental Political Theory, defines, illustrates, and challenges the field of environmental political theory(EPT).Featuring contributions from distinguished political scientists working in this field, this volume addresses canonical theorists and contemporary environmental problems with a diversity of theoretical approaches. The initial volume focuses on EPT as a field of inquiry, engaging both traditions ofpolitical thought and the academy. In the second section, the handbook explores conceptualizations of nature and the environment, as well as the nature of political subjects, communities, and boundaries within our environments. A third section addresses the values that motivate environmentaltheorists - including justice, responsibility, rights, limits, and flourishing - and the potential conflicts that can emerge within, between, and against these ideals. The final section examines the primary structures that constrain or enable the achievement of environmental ends, as well astheorizations of environmental movements, citizenship, and the potential for on-going environmental action and change.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
The Routledge Handbook of Environmental Justice (2017) by
The Routledge Handbook of Environmental Justice presents an extensive and cutting-edge introduction to the diverse, rapidly growing body of research on pressing issues of environmental justice and injustice. With wide-ranging discussion of current debates, controversies, and questions in the history, theory, and methods of environmental justice research, contributed by over 90 leading social scientists, natural scientists, humanists, and scholars from professional disciplines from six continents, it is an essential resource both for newcomers to this research and for experienced scholars and practitioners. The chapters of this volume examine the roots of environmental justice activism, lay out and assess key theories and approaches, and consider the many different substantive issues that have been the subject of activism, empirical research, and policy development throughout the world. The Handbook features critical reviews of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methodological approaches and explicitly addresses interdisciplinarity, transdisciplinarity, and engaged research. Instead of adopting a narrow regional focus, it tackles substantive issues and presents perspectives from political and cultural systems across the world, as well as addressing activism for environmental justice at the global scale. Its chapters do not simply review the state of the art, but also propose new conceptual frameworks and directions for research, policy, and practice. Providing detailed but accessible overviews of the complex, varied dimensions of environmental justice and injustice, the Handbook is an essential guide and reference not only for researchers engaged with environmental justice, but also for undergraduate and graduate teaching and for policymakers and activists.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements (2015)
From abolition and woman suffrage, to civil rights and the minimum wage, to the campaigns for clean air and clean water, struggles to mobilize groups to improve society and promote justice are among the enduring themes of American history. This four-volume set examines every significant social movement in American history, covering each movement's goals, tactics, and impact, as well as its successes and failures.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window