Finding the Who? What? When? and Where? - HART 374/674: Exhibition Seminar - Early and Modern Temperaments (BMC)

Background information on Artists and Artworks

Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is an art reference library that searches Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. This resource contains images, biographies, subject entries, and thematic timelines (antiquity to present).
Art Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
Oxford Bibliographies in Art History
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides expert recommendations, with explanatory blurbs, for important works from books to articles to websites to databases. Covers a wide range of topics, monuments, artists, and more.

Catalogues and collections of works of art

Catalogue raisonné is a comprehensive and descriptive compilation of "all the works of" an artist in a single book. It provides an annotated list of works of art and includes descriptions and images of objects, provenance, biographical information on the artist, scholarly essays and assessment of the works, and bibliography.

For more information about what is contained in a catalogue raisonne and how to use it, see Catalogues Raisonnés Users' Guide - International Foundation for Art Research

Catalogue Raisonne Database
Database of published and in progress catalogue raisonnes by International Foundation for Art Research
International guide of art experts, specialists and catalogues raisonnes
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Directory of art consultants, art galleries, artists
A.C.I. Art catalogue index : catalogues raisonnés & critical catalogues of artists 1780-2008
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Art books A basic bibliography of monographs on artists
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a digital library of texts, Internet sites, and other cultural artifacts.