Research Guides: HIST 298: Politics of Food and Migration: News Sources: U.S. and Philadelphia

U.S. News

Access World News
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for nearly 8,000 newspapers around the globe. Database covers 1977-present.
Nexis Uni
Formerly LexisNexis, find newspaper and magazine articles, news transcripts, reference works, and legal materials, including Supreme Court cases. Includes the New York Times from 1980-present.

Philadelphia Inquirer
The daily newspaper of record for the Philadelphia region. Online coverage 1860 to the present.

Philadelphia Tribune
Founded in 1884, the Tribune is the oldest continually published African-American newspaper in the U.S. Available in full page images and article images from 1912 to the present.

America's Historical Newspapers
Search through 2,000+ historical newspapers published in the United States between 1690-1922. Includes publications from all 50 states, large cities and small towns, and a mix of major newspapers and titles with smaller circulations.

Historical Newspapers Online
Includes links to 79 historic Pennsylvania newspapers, including dates of online coverage
Philly.com
Free website providing current information from the Philadelphia Inquirer and Philadelphia Daily News.
Philadelphia Neighborhoods - news from Temple Multimedia Urban Reporting Lab
Philadelphia Neighborhoods is the cornerstone of the Department of Journalism’s mission to better tell stories in the undercovered and underserved neighborhoods of Philadelphia. Students tell the stories that represent the diverse voices of the multicultural and multinational Philadelphia neighborhoods. Each semester students concentrate their news coverage in a targeted Philadelphia neighborhood, and then provide it with topical information and news from the community. Philadelphia Neighborhoods provides a form of hyper-local coverage missing from our urban communities: journalism street by street.

Ethnic Newswatch
Find articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Articles from 1959-present.