Grupo de Apoyo Mutuo (GAM) Digital Archive

The documents in this archive detail the United States and NGO responses to the Civil War in Guatemala that occurred during the second half of the twentieth century. The documents, which span from the 1980s to the 1990s, include informational reports, newspaper articles, fundraising letters, among other relevant materials. The documents are organized by common themes related to the conflict. This archive is comprised of documents received through donations to Swarthmore College.

The death squad dossier, smuggled out of Guatemalan military intelligence files in 1999, is the only known document of its kind, revealing the fate of scores of Guatemalan citizens who were “disappeared” by the army during the mid-1980s.

This is the main page for the NSA's Guatemala Documentation Project, which began in 1994 during the peace process. The project supported the human rights investigation of the UN-supported Historical Clarification Commission by declassifying several U.S. government documents on the repression and state violence of the past several decades.

In 2005, officials from the Guatemalan government's human rights office found the deteriorating archive of the national police. Since then, the NSA has facilitated the preservation and organization of this archive and has made it accessible to the public.

This report, a compilation of information culled from the declassified record, is the product of the Archive's Guatemala Project. It is made up of two volumes. Volume I consists of data gathered on key military units and officers for the truth commission's use. Volume II contains five examples of the basic DIA general orders and biographic records from which the database was constructed, and 48 of the most richly detailed and interesting documents that we obtained about the Guatemalan military through FOIA. This broader category of declassified records -- embassy cable traffic, CIA intelligence reports, AID records on police programs, defense intelligence assessments and more -- provides a glimpse into the institutional life and development of the Guatemalan armed forces for the duration of the civil conflict.

Volume 1 of the project was “A rapidly deployed critical data & visualization intervention in the USA’s 2018 ‘Zero Tolerance Policy’ for asylum seekers at the US Ports of Entry and the humanitarian crisis that has followed.”

Volume 2 takes a “look at the territory and infrastructure of ICE’s financial regime in the USA. This data & visualization intervention peels back layers of culpability behind the humanitarian crisis of 2018.”

"Unfinished Sentences is an initiative of the University of Washington Center for Human Rights to encourage public participation in support of human rights in El Salvador. Through this effort, we aim to document and share the stories of survivors of crimes against humanity committed in the context of El Salvador’s armed conflict, and to support Salvadoran efforts for truth and accountability."

“The Witness to the Holocaust Project's original aim was to collect eye witness accounts from the soldiers who liberated the German concentration camps during World War II, from Holocaust survivors, and from other witnesses in order to refute claims that the Holocaust never occurred.”