The American Choral Review (ACR) is a journal exploring choral repertoire and issues of performance practice pertaining to music of all periods, as well as commenting on recent scores, recordings, books, and performances. The ACR strives to make recent research more widely known to conductors, and to bring great as well as lesser-known repertoire to the attention of the choral community at large.
The Choral Journal has been the international journal of the American Choral Directors Association since 1959. It provides members with practical and scholarly information about choral music and its performance. Feature articles are anonymously peer-reviewed by the editorial board; column articles are refereed by column editors.
International Journal of Research in Choral Singing
The International Journal of Research in Choral Singing is a publication of the American Choral Directors Association. This journal welcomes studies that apply rigorous, systematically-grounded methodologies, either quantitative or qualitative, to investigate phenomena of potential interest to all who sing in, work with, or are otherwise interested in choral ensembles. The IJRCS was founded in 2002 by founding editor James Daugherty and an international interest group composed of choral conductor-teachers and voice scientists, each of whom was an established researcher and an active choral musician. From its beginning, the journal has encouraged research-based understandings that promote mutually informative conversation among scientific, artistic, and pedagogical orientations to choir singing.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale)
Covers material published in music and various other fields as they relate to music. Records appear in over a hundred languages. The majority of citations include abstracts. Articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, Festschriften, films, and videos are all covered by RILM. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals if they are of scholarly interest.
This database, formerly known as "International Index to Music Periodicals" provides abstracts to music titles. Offers articles in full-text for over 80 periodicals. Covers all aspects of music including education, composition, theory and ethnomusicology. Covers 1874-present. Full-text begins in the mid-1990s-present.
Citations to more than 1,300 arts and humanities journals and to relevant articles on arts and humanities in over 5,800 social science and science journals. Records include articles, bibliographies, editorials and reviews. Covers 1980-present.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.