Oxford Art Online is an art reference library that searches Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. This resource contains images, biographies, subject entries, and thematic timelines (antiquity to present).
Provides access to biographical sources on over 325,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.
Contains biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond,from the earliest times to the year 2001. Articles focus on noteworthy people from all walks of life. No living person is included. Coverage varies.
This interdisciplinary volume of thirty essays engages with four key concerns of queer theoretical work - identity, discourse, normativity and relationality. It identifies many directions queer theorizing is taking, while also pointing toward fruitful avenues for future research.
The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theory by Lisa Disch (Editor); Mary Hawkesworth (Editor)
Provides an overview of the analytical frameworks and theoretical concepts that feminist theorists have developed to analyze the known world. Demonstrating the interdisciplinary nature of feminist theory, the 49 essays offer innovative analyses of topics central to a broad range of issues. The handbook shows how theorizing from women's and men's lives has profound effects on the conceptualization of central categories for fields of analysis from aesthetics to scientific studies.
This multivoiced collection of essays and images presents the perspectives of activists, scholars, artists, and curators from a broad range of constituencies. Challenging traditional disciplinary and cultural boundaries, the book moves beyond any unified feminist historical narrative to present relational feminism of diverse communities, affiliations, and practices.
Biographical Information from Art and Photography Sources
Contemporary Women Artists by Laurie Collier Hillstrom; Kevin Hillstrom
In outlining nearly two centuries of this innovative art form, this book touches on some of photography's key themes, from portraits and still lifes to sports and photojournalism. Photographic techniques are explained and the various approaches to photography around the world are examined.
Consult the 'Biographies' section which starts on page 202.
Feminism is one of the most important perspectives from which visual culture has been theorized and historicized over the past forty years. Challenging the notion of feminism as a unified discourse, this second edition of The Feminism and Visual Culture Readerassembles a wide array of writings that address art, film, architecture, popular culture, new media and other visual fields from a feminist perspective. The essays, 40% of which are new to the second edition, are informed by the authors' deep attention to historical, geographical, and disciplinary contexts as well as by cutting edge concerns such as globalization, diasporic cultural shifts, developments in new media technologies, and intersectional identity politics. The Feminism and Visual Culture Readercombines classic texts with six specially commissioned pieces, all by leading feminist critics, historians, theorists, artists, and activists. Articles are grouped into thematic sections, each of which is introduced by the editor. Providing a framework within which to understand the shifts in feminist thinking in visual studies, as well as an overview of major feminist theories of the visual, this reader also explores how issues of race, class, nationality, and sexuality enter into debates about feminism in the field of the visual.