Research Guides: ENGL 215: Realism, Race, and Photography (HC) Fall 2017: Photography at Haverford

Photographs held by Haverford

When you have selected a print or prints you wish to view, you can arrange to see the print by contacting hc-special@haverford.edu or going into Special Collections during their open hours Monday through Friday.

Haverford Master List of Fine Art Photographs
This two-part guide, created by the Fine Arts Department, covers fine art photographs acquired through August 2013 and held in Haverford's Special Collections. The descriptions are fuller than the List of Photographs and include dates and nationalities of photographers, structure, color, dimensions and dates of the photographs, and acquisition information.
List of Photographs in Haverford's Special Collections Library
This online list shows photographs acquired through August 1, 2013. For updates on newly acquired photographs, see the paper copy of the list kept in Special Collections which is updated with hand-written notes.

TriArte: The Art & Artifacts Database of the TriColleges This link opens in a new window
TriArte features art and artifacts from Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges.

Browsing the Collection

Most university and many specialized art libraries use the Library of Congress classification system. Knowing a few of the most commonly used call numbers will allow you to browse a collection. Many titles will fall into the following topic areas and call number ranges:

TR1            photography magazines
TR15 -139    histories of photography
TR647          exhibit catalogs
TR651          photographic works or topics from years 1800-1850
TR652          photographic works or topics from years 1851-1900
TR653          photographic works or topics from years 1901-1950
TR654          photographic works or topics from years 1951-2000
TR655          photographic works or topics from years 2001-
TR660          landscape photography
TR681          portraits
TR820.5       documentary photography

NOTE: After the first section of the call number (TR654) the second section starts with a letter. This letter will often refer to the first letter in the photographer's last name. For example, a book about Walker Evans would be at the call number TR654 E..