Research Data Management Services (HC)

re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.

A list of NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse. Most accept submissions of appropriate data from NIH-funded investigators (and others), but some restrict data submission to only those researchers involved in a specific research network. Also included are resources that aggregate information about biomedical data and information sharing systems.

NSSDCA serves as the permanent archive for NASA space science mission data. "Space science" means astronomy and astrophysics, solar and space plasma physics, and planetary and lunar science. As permanent archive, NSSDCA teams with NASA's discipline-specific space science "active archives" which provide access to data to researchers and, in some cases, to the general public. Information on submitting data.

Dryad hosts research data underlying scientific and medical publications. Historically, the repository has been strongest in the life sciences. Most data in the repository is associated with peer-reviewed journal articles, but data associated with non-peer reviewed publications from other reputable sources (such as dissertations and books) is also accepted. Information on submitting data.

GenBank is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences. GenBank is part of the International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration, which comprises the DNA DataBank of Japan (DDBJ), the European Nucleotide Archive (ENA), and GenBank at NCBI. These three organizations exchange data on a daily basis. Information on submitting data.

Supported by the NIH, the Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) is a public functional genomics data repository supporting MIAME-compliant data submissions. Array- and sequence-based data are accepted. Tools are provided to help users query and download experiments and curated gene expression profiles. Information on submitting data.

The PDB archive is the single worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids. Information on submitting data.

Established in 1965, the Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is the world’s repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures. Containing over 900,000 entries from x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses, this unique database of accurate 3D structures has become an essential resource to scientists around the world. Information on submitting data.

PubChem, released in 2004, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. Information on submitting data.

GitHub is web-based repository hosting service for developing and sharing source code and other types of text-based content. GitHub is built on Git, a free and open source distributed version control system that manages and stores multiple versions of a project. Information on submitting data.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. ICPSR welcomes and encourages deposits of digital data. Deposits are made using a secure data deposit form to describe the data collection and upload content. Information on submitting data.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. ICPSR welcomes and encourages deposits of digital data. Deposits are made using a secure data deposit form to describe the data collection and upload content. Information on submitting data.

CORE is a full-text, interdisciplinary, non-profit social repository designed to increase the impact of work in the Humanities. It is the result of a collaboration between the Modern Language Association and the Center for Digital Research and Scholarship at Columbia University. Information on submitting data.

MGDS provides a suite of tools and services for free public access to marine geoscience research data acquired throughout the global oceans and adjoining continental margins. The system evolved from projects initiated from 2003-2004 with funding from the National Science Foundation to provide data management services for the U.S. Antarctic Program (USAP), the Ridge 2000 and MARGINS programs, and for active source seismic data. In 2005, the system was expanded to include dedicated data management services for global bathymetry data. Since 2010, MGDS has been part of IEDA, an NSF-funded data facility for solid earth geoscience data. Information on submitting data.

Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. It acts as a common repository for the various projects of the Wikimedia Foundation, but you do not need to belong to one of those projects to use media hosted here. Information on submitting data.

NADAC is a repository that facilitates research on arts and culture by acquiring data, particularly those funded by federal agencies and other organizations, and sharing those data with researchers, policymakers, people in the arts and culture field, and the general public. Information on submitting data.

HMCA is the data archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), the largest philanthropy devoted exclusively to health and health care in the United States. Operated by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) at the University of Michigan, HMCA preserves and disseminates data collected by selected research projects funded by the Foundation and facilitates secondary analyses of the data. The data collections in HMCA include surveys of health care professionals and organizations, investigations of access to medical care, surveys on substance abuse, and evaluations of innovative programs for the delivery of health care. ICPSR staff prepare metadata and execute other processing functions that ensure respondent anonymity and the integrity, usability, and preservation of each data collection. Information on submitting data.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. ICPSR welcomes and encourages deposits of digital data. Deposits are made using a secure data deposit form to describe the data collection and upload content. Information on submitting data.

LDC is an open consortium of universities, libraries, corporations and government research laboratories. It supports language-related education, research and technology development by creating and sharing linguistic resources, such as data, tools and standards. Information on submitting data.

BCO-DMO, located at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, is a combination of the formerly independent Data Management Offices formed in support of the US JGOFS and US GLOBEC programs. The BCO-DMO staff members are the curators of the data collections created by those respective programs, as well as data from more recent NSF Geosciences Directorate (GEO) Division of Ocean Sciences (OCE) Biological and Chemical Oceanography Sections, Division of Polar Programs (PLR) Antarctic Sciences (ANT) Organisms & Ecosystems, and Arctic Sciences (ARC) awards. The BCO-DMO project is funded by NSF OCE and ANT programs, NSF award number OCE-1435578.

HEPData has been built up over the past four decades as a unique open-access repository for scattering data from experimental particle physics. It currently comprises the data points from plots and tables related to several thousand publications including those from the Large Hadron Collider (LHC). HEPData is funded by a grant from the UK STFC and is based at the IPPP at Durham University. Information on submitting data.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. ICPSR welcomes and encourages deposits of digital data. Deposits are made using a secure data deposit form to describe the data collection and upload content. Information on submitting data.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. ICPSR welcomes and encourages deposits of digital data. Deposits are made using a secure data deposit form to describe the data collection and upload content. Information on submitting data.

OSF is a multi-disciplinary repository designed to facilitate the research process and provide long-term storage of and access to research data and associated objects. In addition, the OSF provides pre-registration/analysis modules increasingly used by psychologists to record hypotheses, experimental design, and statistical analysis prior to data collection. The OSF provides an especially strong platform for collaborative work, supporting differential access across project components. Information on submitting data.

The ARDA Data Archive is a collection of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers and made available online by the ARDA. Information on submitting data.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. ICPSR welcomes and encourages deposits of digital data. Deposits are made using a secure data deposit form to describe the data collection and upload content. Information on submitting data.