Research Guides: HIST/ANTH 264: Materiality and Spectacle in 19th C. U.S. (HC) Fall 2017: Background Information

Biographical Information

American National Biography
- This link opens in a new window
Offers portraits of more than 18,000 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation. No living person is included.
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to reference sources and important retrospective works that cover individuals both living and deceased from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.

Literature Resource Center
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Very useful collection of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.

Columbia Guide to American Women in the Nineteenth Century
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Narrative overviews of time periods and issues including "Commerce and Culture" and "Education and Reform."
Companion to American Cultural History
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interpretive essay-length articles surveying changes over time as well as issues in terms of theme and methodology. Note in particular "Performance and Display" and "Situating Visual Culture."
Companion to 19th-Century America
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essay-length pieces on political and social history as well as issues involving popular culture and technology.
Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century

American Art in the Nineteenth Century
Seventy-seven illustrated short essays present different aspects of art in America. They come from the Heilbrunn Timeline at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
The University of Wisconsin maintains this website of texts, images, and resources with an emphasis on American material from the past.
Oxford Art Online
Includes a major encyclopedia of art as well as other reference works. The entries are enhanced by numerous illustrations and links to artworks.