Research Guides: WRPR 162: Immigration and Representation (HC): Cited Reference Searching

Tracking Citations Forward in Time with Cited Reference Indexes

Researchers can often find useful scholarship by identifying one particularly relevant book or article and seeing which sources that text cites. With print texts, this process might involve checking the bibliography. In some databases, you can also trace citations forward in time and find subsequent material that cites a particularly useful resource. Use the following databases to find a relevant resource and then see which later texts cite the one with which you start. Keep in mind, however, that the citations will no be comprehensive—i.e., the citations will often be limited by the scope of the database in which you're working.

Web of Science Citation Databases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Usually researchers find more sources by looking at the footnotes in an article or book, but these will always be older than the publication you have in hand.

Citation indexes like the Web of Science (which includes sections for the Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Science) are set up to search for sources cited in the footnotes of journal articles as soon as they become available. This allows you to find newer articles which cite the books and articles you already know are key for your topic. By relying on connections between authors rather than subject words and by moving forward in time, citation searching can open up new avenues of research.

When you connect, open the Cited Reference Search tab.
Enter the author's name: Last name first, First name initial only with asterisk: Cisneros e*
Skip Cited Title box.
Put the publication year in the Cited Year box.
Under Current Limits, open Citation Databases and uncheck Science Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Science if you have a non-science topic..
On the next screen choose the relevant results based on the Cited Work title.

The results screen shows the newest articles first. Most records include a summary of contents, so that you can determine how relevant they may be for your research.
Note the Times Cited column. This links you to a still newer generation of scholarship.

Festival in New York City Chinatown

Lunar celebration, 2005 (Source: Wikimedia Commons)

Tracking Citations Forward - Google Scholar

Google Scholar
To search for cited references in Google Scholar, enter the title of the article or book in quotation marks.
In the results list, check the link Cited by [number] to see both books and journal articles that cite the title you have entered.
Results example:
[CITATION] "forgotten citizens deportation children"
LH Zayas - 2015
Cited by 117 Related articles

Results include:
[BOOK] Borders of belonging: Struggle and solidarity in mixed-status immigrant families
H Castañeda - 2019 - books.google.com
Link in Tripod

Unauthorized status and youth development in the United States: Consensus statement of the society for research on adolescence
H Yoshikawa, C Suárez‐Orozco… - Journal of Research …, 2017 - Wiley Online Library

[HTML] Immigrant parent legal status, parent–child relationships, and child social emotional wellbeing: A middle childhood perspective
KM Brabeck, E Sibley - Journal of Child and Family Studies, 2016 - Springer