Research Guides: THEA 024: Stage Management (SC): Finding Articles

Browsing

Modern Drama
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 17125286
"Modern Drama was founded in 1958 and is the most prominent journal in English to focus on dramatic literature. The terms, "modern" and "drama," are the subject of continuing and fruitful debate, but the journal has been distinguished by the excellence of its close readings of both canonical and lesser known dramatic texts through a range of methodological perspectives. The journal features refereed articles that enhance our understanding of plays in both formal and historical terms, largely treating literature of the past two centuries from diverse geo-political contexts, as well as an extensive book review section. Published quarterly." - publisher's website
PAJ: a journal of performance and art
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"PAJ explores innovative work in theatre, performance art, dance, video, writing, technology, sound, and music, bringing together all live arts in thoughtful cultural dialogue. Issues include critical essays, artists’ writings, interviews, plays, drawings and notations, with extended coverage of performance, festivals, and books. Podcasts, video and audio clips appear on PAJ's online home. In January 2012, PAJ's 100th issue, "Performance New York," was published, featuring contributions by several generations of artists, critics, and curators. PAJ will celebrate 40 years of journal and book publishing in 2016." - publisher's website
TDR: The Drama Review
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"TDR traces the broad spectrum of performances—studying performances in their aesthetic, social, economic, and political contexts. With an emphasis on experimental, avant-garde, intercultural, and interdisciplinary performance, TDR covers performance art, theatre, dance, music, visual art, popular entertainments, media, sports, rituals, and the performance in and of politics and everyday life. Long known as the basic resource for current scholarship in performance studies, TDR continues to be the liveliest forum for debate on important performances in every medium, setting, and culture." - publisher's website
Theater
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"For more than thirty years Theater has been the most informative, serious, and imaginative American journal available to readers interested in contemporary theater. It has been the first publisher of pathbreaking plays from writers as diverse as Rinde Eckert, Richard Foreman, David Greenspan, W. David Hancock, Peter Handke, Sarah Kane, and Adrienne Kennedy. Theater has also featured lively polemics and essays by dramatists including Dario Fo, Heiner Müller, Suzan-Lori Parks, and Mac Wellman. Special issues have covered theater and ecology, new music-theater, South African theater, theater and social change, new Polish directing, and theater and the apocalypse." - publisher's website
Theatre Journal
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"For six decades, Theatre Journal's broad array of scholarly articles and reviews has earned it an international reputation as one of the most authoritative and useful publications of theatre studies available today. Drawing contributions from noted practitioners and scholars, Theatre Journal features social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production. Theatre Journal is an official publication of the Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE)." - publisher's website
TheatreForum
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"TheatreForum is an international theatre journal edited by Theodore Shank, Jim Carmody, Adele Edling Shank, and John Rouse. Since 1992, TheatreForum has documented and discussed the work of innovative theatre artists in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Americas. Our focus is on new performance works that reflect contemporary sensibilities and articulate new concepts and forms. Each issue includes at least two previously unpublished scripts, dozens of photographs, and a variety of articles and interviews written by both scholars and artists." - publisher's website

Searching

ProQuest Performing Arts Database‎
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database, formerly known as "International Index to the Performing Arts" provides abstracts and full-text to journal articles. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, theater, opera, and broadcasting. Covers 1864-present.
MLA International Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly books and articles related to literature, language, linguistics, film, theater and folklore. Includes scholarship from 1926 to the present.

Additional Resources

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International index covering all areas of design and craft. Includes data on over 40,000 designers, studios, workshops, firms etc. Also included are 4 supplementary directories on education, organizations, archives and periodicals.
ProQuest Arts and Humanities Database
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest full-text journal database, formerly known as "ProQuest Arts and Humanities Full Text" has been created to complement the CSA Illumina portfolio of Arts and Humanities databases. Subscribers to any of these databases - including ARTBibliographies Modern, Design and Applied Arts Index, British Humanities Index, MLA International Bibliography and Philosopher's Index amongst others - can link directly from citations in these indexes to the corresponding full-text articles. The contents reflect the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women's studies.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to more than 1,300 arts and humanities journals and to relevant articles on arts and humanities in over 5,800 social science and science journals. Records include articles, bibliographies, editorials and reviews. Covers 1980-present.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
- This link opens in a new window
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, production reviews, audiovisual materials, electronic media and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. Covers works published or produced between 1963 to the present.