Research Guides: SOCL 317: Comparative Social Policy (BMC): Health

Article Databases

Oxford Bibliographies in Public Health
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on public health, a field with a mission to assess, develop, and assure the health of a population.
Social Services Abstracts
Find scholarly journal articles and dissertations in the areas of social work, social services, and social policy. International in scope.
Social Work Abstracts
Find scholarly journal articles, dissertations, and books dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

Reference Books in Tripod

Comparative Health Policy (2010)
ISBN: 9780230234277

This text assesses the extent to which policy problems and responses in different countries have common causes or spring from specific national circumstances.
Introduction to Health Care Services: Foundations and Challenges (2015)
ISBN: 9781118450154

A comprehensive guide to the structure, synergy, and challenges in U.S. health care delivery, detailing the interaction of health, environments, organizations, populations, and the health professions.
Introduction to Health Policy by Leiyu Shi Healthcare needs in the United States are challenging and continuously evolving. As a result, healthcare is a constant priority for leaders at the federal, state, and local levels. Healthcare leaders who have a strong understanding of the basics of health policy are optimally positioned to improve health and healthcare in both their organizations and their communities. Introduction to Health Policy uniquely integrates an introductory overview of health policymaking with an examination of critical policy-related issues, research and evaluation methods, and international perspectives. Author Leiyu Shi, a prominent expert in the field, provides a basic introduction to key terms and the determinants of health and policy. He then explores the varied world of policymaking, ranging from multiple government levels, to the private sector, to the international stage. Policy-based attempts to address determinants of health-social, behavioral, and medical-are then explored. The book concludes by examining policy research and analysis. Dr. Shi addresses various types of healthcare provisions, including public health, managed care, ambulatory care, extended care, and acute care in a hospital setting. Discussion questions and real-world cases and examples bring theories and concepts to life. This second edition features: New and updated case studies in each chapter New references and updated data Diversified international coverage, with policymaking examples from Canada, the United Kingdom, Sweden, Australia, and China Current information on health policy research The latest developments in healthcare reform New content on the impact of the Affordable Care Act, patient-centered medical homes, accountable care organizations, precision medicine and big data, and more This introductory book breaks down the complexity of health policy for future healthcare leaders who need a better understanding of how policy affects organizations and communities and how they themselves can influence health policymaking.
ISBN: 1640550259

Publication Date: 2019
Sociology of Health and Illness: Critical Perspectives (2012)
ISBN: 9781429255271

The Sociology of Health and Illness: Critical Perspectives is an essential resource for anyone interested in health and health care. The new Ninth Edition tackles some of the most timely health issues of our day with coverage of eating disorders, the effects of inequality on health, how race, class, and gender affect health outcomes, the health politics of asthma and more. Further, new sections explore the effects of health care reform, the pharmaceutical industry, and the internet on health.