Research Guides: EALC 203: Ukiyo-e (HC/BMC): Develop your research even further: Databases and Journal Articles

Best Bets

We have access to a journal that is dedicated to the study of Ukiyo'e:

Impressions: Official publication of the Ukiyo-e Society of America We have coverage through JSTOR from 1976-2019. Issues for the most recent four years can be borrowed from Bryn Mawr. See the contents for recent issues on the journal website.

The following databases provide access to journal articles from many disciplines. I recommend trying out these databases first by conducting a quick search on "Ukiyo-e" ("Ukiyoe") or "Japanese printmaking." See what comes up and then change your search tactics accordingly.

JSTOR Provides full-text and page images from many of the top journals in most academic disciplines. Coverage is from the inception of the journal through three to five years ago.
Bibliography of Asian Studies Use the search fields for specifically Asia-related searches. BAS is the most comprehensive Western language resource for research on Asia.
Art Index Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts, and photography.

Prints Held by Haverford and Bryn Mawr

Triarte: The Art and Artifacts Database of the TriColleges
TriArte features art and artifacts from Bryn Mawr, Haverford, and Swarthmore Colleges. For finding photographs, you can enter the photographer's name in the Quick Search box. You can see Haverford's full holdings by choosing Browse the Collection by College and then Photographs. The Filter Results give listings for individual photographers.
Note too that different information is displayed about a photo according to the View you choose.
ArtStor
ArtStor has the majority of the material you will find in TriArte, but with higher quality scans of our photography collection. At the top of the page, click on "Enter Artstor Digital Library" and either login or sign up at the top of the page.
Enter, for example, a photographer's name in the search box and choose "Haverford College Image Collections" in the second box. Compare this version of the Subway Rider with the photo on this page from Triarte.

Using Triarte and Artstor

History journals and indexes

Use the following sources if you want historical background on any given topic.

Historical Abstracts : this index provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations that cover world history from 1450 to the present (excluding US and Canada).
Cambridge History of Japan : Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of Japan from the prehistoric period through the modern era.