Streaming video of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover world dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances.
Production: Produced in collaboration with the National Museum of Ethnology (Osaka) and Smithsonian/Folkways Recordings.
You may want to browse in the 9 guide books to this set of 30 DVDs: v.1. Introduction -- v.2. East Asia -- v.3. Southeast Asia -- v.4. South Asia -- v.5. Middle East & Africa -- v.6. Soviet Union -- v.7. Europe -- v.8. Americas -- v.9. Oceania.
Intended to be a visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture. Contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from anthropologists and ethnographers in the field; and select feature films. Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, food and foraging, economic systems, social stratification, caste systems and slavery, kinship, political organization, conflict and resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
The EVIA (Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis) Digital Archive Project is a joint effort of Indiana University and the University of Michigan to establish a digital archive of ethnographic video for use by scholars and instructors. It will require you to create an account before accessing content.
Naxos Music Library World is one of the most comprehensive collections of world music available online. It offers over 60,800* tracks from more than 6,380* albums. Over 13,100* artists are represented. Naxos Music Library World comprises the catalogues of Smithsonian Folkways and many other labels. All this can be accessible from computers in academic libraries, homes, or offices. Naxos Music Library World is owned by Naxos Digital Services US, Incorporated. (*As of April 1, 2016)
Contemporary world music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku and more.
Provides access to streaming documentaries of over 900 titles in the humanities and social sciences produced from 1978-present. Topical coverage includes race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod Books and More to find relevant books, journals, dissertations, films, and other material owned by the tri-college libraries. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to Magill or another library.
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.