2014, Linda E. Dankworth (Editor); Ann R. David (Editor). "Dance Ethnography and Global Perspectives presents the work of dance scholars whose professional fieldwork spans several continents and includes studies of the dance and movement systems of varied global communities."
Dancing Cultures: Globalization, tourism and identity in the anthropology of dance
2012. Hélène Neveu Kringelbach (Editor); Jonathan Skinner (Editor)Dance is more than an aesthetic of life - dance embodies life. This is evident from the social history of jive, the marketing of trans-national ballet, ritual healing dances in Italy or folk dances performed for tourists in Mexico, Panama and Canada. Dance often captures those essential dimensions of social life that cannot be easily put into words. What are the flows and movements of dance carried by migrants and tourists? How is dance used to shape nationalist ideology? What are the connections between dance and ethnicity, gender, health, globalization and nationalism, capitalism and post-colonialism? Through innovative and wide-ranging case studies, the contributors explore the central role dance plays in culture as leisure commodity, cultural heritage, cultural aesthetic or cathartic social movement.
2004, Drid Williams. "Anthropology and the Dance is a lively, controversial examination and discussion of theories of dance by the pioneer of the anthropology of human movement. Drid Williams's definitive text is explicitly intended for graduate students in anthropology faced with the wide spectrum of theories of human movement, including the dance, sign language, martial arts, and rituals. With its groundbreaking approach to this previously unexamined field, however, Anthropology and the Dance brings the study of human movement to readers in fields such as philosophy, psychology, sociology, ethnomusicology, library science, physical education, history, music, linguistics, dance, and dance education.Williams examines subjects ranging from Aboriginal and African dances to the Royal Ballet, and makes a compelling case for moving beyond the Western view of the dance as mere entertainment, locating human movement firmly and irrefutably within the sphere of serious study. Anthropology and the Dance: Ten Lectures is the thoroughly rewritten second edition of Ten Lectures on Theories of the Dance (1991). Included are a glossary of terms, indexes and notes, an updated bibliography, and an appendix, "An Exercise in Applied Personal Anthropology."
Dance in the Field: Theory, methods, and issues in dance ethnography
1999, edited by Theresa Buckland. "This international collection on dance ethnography - the first of its kind - comprises original contributions on fieldwork in dance and human movement. Based on extensive fieldwork experience, it explores the major theoretical approaches, methods and concerns of dance and movement research from anthropological and ethnochoreological perspectives. The result underlines the existing and continuing growth in dance ethnography which will also be of interest to those in dance studies, anthropology, cultural studies, folklore, ethnomusicology and sociology."
1999. Sondra Horton Fraleigh. "This text introduces students to research methods in dance. The editors introduce dance as evolutional, raising issues of definition and naming, defining dance in view of its intrinsic participatory values, its developmental aspects, and its purposes from art to ritual."
Anthropology and Human Movement: the study of dances
1997. Drid Williams. Anthropology & Human Movement, 1: The Study of Dances brings together one philosopher (David Best) & seven leading anthropologists (Joann W. Keali'inohomoku, Anya Peterson Royce, Drid Williams, Adrienne Kaeppler, John Middleton, Edward Schieffelin & Marjorie Franken) in a discussion of dances & ceremonies from around the world. Essays examine ballet, Hopi dances, Mexican dances, Lugbara dances (East Africa), dances of the Kaluli people (New Guinea), & formalized systems of movement in Tonga. Anthropology & Human Movement, 1 includes "Notes on Comparative Method" & a chapter from David Best's Philosophy & Human Movement on the problem of definition. It incorporates comments by well-known authors on signs & symbols. Each author's contribution is accompanied by biographical notes, summary exercises, & study questions. Designed for use in any course aiming to provide an anthropological perspective on the study of dances & rituals, Anthropology & Human Movement, 1 will prove to be useful to all audiences with an interest in social & cultural anthropology, performance studies, linguistics, ethnomusicology, & dance ethnology.
The Study of Ethnomusicology: Thirty-Three Discussion
2015. "Known affectionately as "The Red Book," Bruno Nettl's The Study of Ethnomusicology became a classic upon its original publication in 1983. Scholars and students alike have hailed it not just for its insights but for a disarming, witty style able to engage and entertain even casual readers while providing essential grounding in the field. In this third edition, Nettl revises the text throughout, adding new chapters and discussions that take into account recent developments across the field and reflecting on how his thinking has changed or even reversed itself during his sixty-year career. An updated bibliography rounds out the volume."
Shadows in the Field: New perspectives for fieldwork in ethnomusicology
2008. Gregory F. Barz (Editor); Timothy J. Cooley (Editor). "Ethnomusicological fieldwork has significantly changed since the end of the the 20th century. Ethnomusicology is in a critical moment that requires new perspecitves on fieldwork - perspectives that are not addressed in the standard guides to ethnomusicological or anthropological method. Thefocus in ethnomusicological writing and teaching has traditionally centered around analyses and ethnographic representations of musical cultures, rather than on the personal world of understanding, experience, knowing, and doing fieldwork. Shadows in the Field deliberately shift the focus ofethnomusicology and of ethnography in general from representation (text) to experience (fieldwork). The "new fieldwork" moves beyond mere data collection and has become a defining characteristic of ethnomusicology that engages the scholar in meaningful human contexts. In this new edition of Shadows in the Field, renowned ethnomusicologists explore the roles they themselves act out while performing fieldwork and pose significant questions for the field: What are the new directions in ethnomusicological fieldwork? Where does fieldwork of "the past" fit into thesetheories? And above all, what do we see when we acknowledge the shadows we cast in the field? The second edition of Shadows in the Field includes updates of all existing chapters, a new preface by Bruno Nettl, and seven new chapters addressing critical issues and concerns that have become increasingly relevant since the first edition."
Recording Culture: Audio documentary and the ethnographic experience
2008. Daniel Makagon; Mark Neumann. "Recording Culture: Audio Documentary and the Ethnographic Experience is the first book to explore audio documentary as a research method. Authors Daniel Makagon and Mark Neumann demonstrate that audio documentary based in the practices of fieldwork increases the potential for researchers to reach academic and popular audiences and work collaboratively with people in the pursuit and representation of knowledge and experience. Key Features Encourages readers to critically listen to their sites of analysis and the people they study Offers an ethnographic alternative that moves beyond the written form Provides researchers with a broader historical context for recording culture projects Offers students a better sense of ethnography's relationship to popular documentary fieldwork Includes creative sonic fieldwork projects Demonstrates how audio documentary as a qualitative fieldwork practice can be connected to public life and community-building as citizen storytelling Offers a practical guide to getting started in the Appendix Recording Culture: Audio Documentary and the Ethnographic Experience is paired with a companion Web site at www.recordingculture.org that contains links to exemplary audio ethnographies."
1983. Marcia Herndon; Norma McLeod. Includes: Introduction, Research Design, Preparation for the Field, The Initial Field Work Period, The Period of Tangible Accomplishment, Recording and Preserving Data, Limitations on Field Work, Recommended Readings, and References Cited.
The library catalog of Bryn Mawr, Haverford and Swarthmore Colleges. Use Tripod Books and Media to find relevant books, journals, dissertations, films, and other material owned by the tri-college libraries. Click on the "request" button at the bottom of an item's record to have it delivered to Magill or another library.
A catalog of the holdings of books, journals, and other materials held by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries. Includes manuscripts, maps, films and sound recordings. Covers works published before 1,000 BC-present.
Covers material published in music and various other fields as they relate to music. Records appear in over a hundred languages. The majority of citations include abstracts. Articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, Festschriften, films, and videos are all covered by RILM. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals if they are of scholarly interest.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is a collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences that consists of 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, and 1.2 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Coverage is from 1861 to the present day.