The main textbook for CHEM 222 is available online here.
Additional suggested texts below:
Organic Chemistry as a Second Language by 
Organic Chemistry by 
The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by
The landmark text in medical pharmacology is now in full color Includes DVD with image bank A Doody's Core Title for 2015! 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "This 12th edition of the most authoritative book in pharmacology is the best both in content and physical appearance....This edition of Goodman & Gilman's continues to be the most authoritative and widely used resource bridging the discipline of pharmacology with therapeutics. Moreover, readers will find this edition to be substantially improved from past editions in both content and physical appearance."--Doody's Review Service The most universally respected and read medical text in all of pharmacology, Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease. Enriched by a new full-color presentation and updated to reflect all critical new developments in drug action and drug-disease interaction, the twelfth edition includes more than 440 color illustrations depicting key principles and actions of specific pathways and therapeutic agents. The companion DVD includes all the images and tables in the text along with narrated animations. Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 12e is divided into nine sections, covering: General Principles Neuropharmacology Modulation of Cardiovascular Function Inflammation, Immunomodulation, and Hematopoiesis Endocrine Pharmacology Gastrointestinal Pharmacology Chemotherapy of Infectious Disease Chemotherapy of Neoplastic Diseases Special Systems Pharmacology More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.
The Merck Index by
The Merck Index is the definitive reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. It has been the leading source of information on chemical compounds for generations of scientists and professionals, selling over one million copies since its publication in 1889. The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact. The 15th edition, available from Royal Society of Chemistry publishing for the first time, is fully revised and updated and contains over 500 new monographs. Over 35% of the existing entries have been updated since the last edition, molecular weights have been recalculated with the latest IUPAC standards and there are revised periodic table and atomic weight tables. The Merck Index is an essential reference for all scholarly and professional chemists, biochemists, pharmacists and toxicologists and of interest to students, teachers, academic libraries, academic researchers, information professionals, solicitors, journalists and government agencies. *The name THE MERCK INDEX is owned by Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp., a subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc., Whitehouse Station, N.J., U.S.A., and is licensed to The Royal Society of Chemistry for use in the U.S.A. and Canada.
Metabolism of Drugs and Other Xenobiotics by
A practice-oriented desktop reference for medical professionals, toxicologists and pharmaceutical researchers, this handbook provides systematic coverage of the metabolic pathways of all major classes of xenobiotics in the human body. The first part comprehensively reviews the main enzyme systems involved in biotransformation and how they are orchestrated in the body, while parts two to four cover the three main classes of xenobiotics: drugs, natural products, environmental pollutants. The part on drugs includes more than 300 substances from five major therapeutic groups (central nervous system, cardiovascular system, cancer, infection, and pain) as well as most drugs of abuse including nicotine, alcohol and "designer" drugs. Selected, well-documented case studies from the most important xenobiotics classes illustrate general principles of metabolism, making this equally useful for teaching courses on pharmacology, drug metabolism or molecular toxicology. Of particular interest, and unique to this volume is the inclusion of a wide range of additional xenobiotic compounds, including food supplements, herbal preparations, and agrochemicals.
The Prokaryotes by
With the launch of its first electronic edition, The Prokaryotes, the definitive reference on the biology of bacteria, enters an exciting new era of information delivery. Subscription-based access is available. The electronic version begins with an online implementation of the content found in the printed reference work, The Prokaryotes, Second Edition. The content is being fully updated over a five-year period until the work is completely revised. Thereafter, material will be continuously added to reflect developments in bacteriology. This online version features information retrieval functions and multimedia components.
