The librarians are here to help you! Make an appointment with either Camilla or Laura here. Select your desired appointment from one of the librarian's calendar. You can always email us with questions or drop by our offices in Carpenter Library.
Use ILLiad to request books not available in Tripod or via E-ZBorrow, plus journal articles, book chapters and more for delivery in 2-14 days. No need to specify a library - the ILL staff will find out who owns an item and is likely to lend. The lending library sets the loan period and makes the decision on renewals.
Includes bibliographical references and subject and keyword indexes for late antiquity and classical periods. Online version of Der neue Pauly--which includes 13 volumes on Antiquity, 5 on the Classical Tradition, and one index volume--and Brill's New Pauly. Screen displays are primarily in English, with some also available in German. The encyclopedia itself includes the original German work and its English translation.
Offers a comprehensive overview of the literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion of the Greek and Roman world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
Provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity. The 5th edition of the Dictionary is continuously updated.
A reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. It features an abundance of in-depth articles on this field of enduring importance--from biographies to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture. The resource provides art historical and cultural information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments.
Website for the online version of the Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum project of the Union Acade´mique Internationale, which involves publication of a collection of images of primarily Greek ancient vases dating from 6,000 B.C. to 400 A.D. from more than 120 collections in 26 countries. Provides an online searchable database of digitized text and images, browsable by country and museum, and searchable by fabric, technique, provenance and other aspects.
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Provides a survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.
Provides coverage of scholarship on European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945; visual arts, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history; scholarship from 500 core journals, plus detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. International coverage, with at least 60% of records from non-English-language publications.
Provides bibilographies of and encyclopedic articles about over 50 topics in the classics. Includes introductions to each topic area, guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.