Research Guides: HIST 269: History of Mapping (HC): Special Collections Resources

Finding Quaker & Special Collections Materials

Much of the material in Quaker & Special Collections is accessible via Tripod, the Libraries' catalog. To search our manuscript collections, which contain numerous photos and snapshots, use our finding aid search. When searching for maps, you can use the keyword "map*" or "atlas*" and limit to Quaker & Special Collections in Tripod. If you want to find a map from a certain period, limit the dates using the Year of Publication filter on the left.

Printed Maps

A letter from William Penn
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This 1683 publication contains Thomas Holme's "A Portraiture of the City of Philadelphia" as well as a listing of those who owned land in the city.
Map of Luzerne County
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Printed in 1823, and probably formerly owned by Josiah White.
Property atlas of Montgomery county, Pennsylvania
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compiled from "from private plans, official records, actual surveys" and published in1893.
Latest War Map of Europe
This satirical map is part of the Janney family papers.
La Geografia di Claudio Tolomeo Alessandrino
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A 1561 publication of Ptolemy's Geography.
Driving-series of Baist's map of Philadelphia and environs
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published in 1890.
An accurate map of North and South Carolina
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
With their Indian frontiers, shewing in a distinct manner all the mountains, rivers, swamps, marshes, bays, creeks, harbours, sandbanks and soundings on the coasts.
With the roads and Indian paths; as well as the boundary or provincial lines, the several townships and other divisions of the land in both province. Published in 1775
A voyage of discovery to the North Pacific ocean, and round the world
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"In which the coast of north-west America has been carefully examined and accurately surveyed. Undertaken by His Majesty's command, principally with a view to ascertain the existence of any navigable communication between the North Pacific and North Atlantic oceans; and performed in the years 1790, 1791, 1792, 1793, 1794, and 1795, in the Discovery sloop of war, and armed tender Chatham, under the command of Captain George Vancouver."
Imperii Caroli Magui et vicinarum regionum
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
17th century map.

Hand-Drawn Maps

Plan of Lands Late of Henry Drinker, Dec.d.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compiled ca. 1809, this bound atlas contains 20 heavily annotated manuscript maps in Pennsylvania, most of which cover the areas of Luzerne and Susquehanna counties.
Survey of the Burlington Tract
Part of the Allinson family papers.
Associated Executive Committee of Friends on Indian Affairs records
The committee was formed in the 1860s to manage reservations in Kansas and Nebraska. Maps and statistics are interfiled.
Maps of Canton, 1938
Maps of Canton in 1938 showing areas that were bombed or burned. From the collection of William Warder Cadbury, a long-time medical missionary in China.