Research Guides: HIST 308: How to Build a Monument (HC): Special Collections Resources

Finding Quaker & Special Collections Materials

Much of the material in Quaker & Special Collections is accessible via Tripod, the Libraries' catalog. The Triarte database contains the fine art collection with digital images of artwork; most of these materials are also listed in Tripod. To search our manuscript collections, which contain numerous photos and snapshots, use our finding aid search.

1876 Centennial

Centennial portfolio: A souvenir of the International Exhibition at Philadelphia
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Views of 50 of the main buildings, with descriptions.
Centennial souvenir, Philadelphia, 1876
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Map of the centennial grounds and vicinity, Philadelphia
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The map shows "the approaches by steam and street railways."
Guide to Philadelphia and vicinity
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"A new handbook for strangers and citizens, expressly designed for the use of those visiting the International Exhibition, with a history of the city."
The Centennial Exposition described and illustrated
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Being a concise and graphic description of this grand enterprise commemorative of the first centennary [sic] of American independence."
Stereocards of the Centennial
Almost 100 stereocards of the Centennial Exposition, showing a variety of views. Stereocards were an early 20th century 3D technology.

Kneeling Slave

Poems written during the progress of the abolition question in the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published in 1837, this book features woodcut images of the kneeling slave medallion.
New Jersey Abolition Society certificate of membership
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This certificate has not been filled in. It features a variation on the kneeling slave image.

George Washington

Monuments of Washington's patriotism
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published in 1838, as the Washington National Monument Society was raising funds to construct a monument, the book offers facsimiles of documents Washington wrote.
Reinhardt, Hawley and Hewes family papers,
Box 3 includes a certificate of membership for the Washington National Monument Society.

National Parks

Frank Jay Haynes photographs of Yellowstone
F. Jay Haynes was appointed official photographer of Yellowstone National Park by the Secretary of the Interior in 1884.
View in the Yosemite Valley
By Eadweard Muybridge, 1869.
Mirror Lake, Yosemite, Cal.
Carleton Emmons Watkins, 1867.
Jackson Lake-Teton Mts.
Frank Jay Haynes, ca. 1885.
Cathedral Peak and Lake
Ansel Adams, taken in Yosemite National Park.
Dogwood
Ansel Adams, taken in Yosemite National Park.
Tenaya Creek, Dogwood Rains
Ansel Adams, taken in Yosemite National Park.
Merced River, Yosemite National Park, California, August 13, 1979
Stephen Shore, ektacolor print.
Juniper, Tenaya Lake, 1937
Edward Weston, taken in Yosemite National Park.
Canyon de Chelle
Ansel Adams, ca. 1947-1951. This is a national monument in Northeastern Arizona.
In Monument Valley, Utah
Ansel Adams, ca. 1947-1951.

Other Monuments

An historical account of the Episcopal see, and cathedral church, of Sarum, or Salisbury
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published in 1814, this text includes descriptions of the monuments at Salisbury cathedral.
Vedute di Roma designate ed incise da Giambattista Piranesi
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth century engravings of Rome, showing monuments and ancient structures.
The svrvay of London
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"With a briefe relation of all the memorable monuments, and other especiall obseruations, both in and about the same citie."
Published 1618.
Windsor Castle, in a monument to our Late Sovereign K. Charles II
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The monument in this case appears to be the poem itself.
The unfinished monument by Andrea del Verrocchio to the Cardinal Niccolo Forteguerri at Pistoia
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes photographs of the monument.
Dedication of the Barbara Frietchie monument in Frederick, Maryland, Sept. 9, 1914
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes an image of the monument and remarks given at the dedication.
Report on William Penn memorial in London
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes a wide variety of information about Penn and the monument.
Civil War Monument
Taken in 1935-1936 by Walker Evans in Vicksburg, Mississippi.