"The invalid's oracle: containing peptic precepts, pointing out agreeable and effectual methods to prevent and relieve indigestion, and to regulate and strengthen the action of the stomach and bowels ... To which is added, The pleasure of making a will." Published 1828.
These records include those of the Friends' Asylum in Philadelphia, which was known for its innovative approach to mental health care for the time. Materials include the Superintendent's journals and day books, minutes of various managing committees, financial information, and weather reports.
This collection contains the diary of Elizabeth R. Shoemaker Taylor who gives an account of Morgan Hinchman's commitment to Friends' Asylum in Frankford, PA, in 1847 which resulted in a lawsuit against his family.
The Aimwell School was founded in 1796 by Anne Parrish for the purpose of providing “a good English education” for poor girls. The collection includes minute books, financial documents, and photographs.
The collection includes letters of Mary Cope to her children, often with lots of advice. Anna and Francis Cope's letters often discuss their children and the children's health. Letters of Rachel Cope Evans also deal with her children's health.
Correspondence between Henry Drinker and his wife Elizabeth during his exile from the Philadelphia area during the Revolutionary War. Drinker often writes about how hard it is to be separated from his family and his children.
Records of a boarding school run by the Society of Friends from 1852 to 1938 in Cattaraugus County, New York. See especially sections AA47-68, although letters in the proceeding part of the collection also deal with the school.
This baby book covers the life of John Sharpless Klein from his birth on September 9, 1922 though his high school graduation in 1940. His mother, Katharine Klein, filled out the pages of the book and also inserted cards and notes from relatives, as well as additional commentary.